Mini-ARC Review: Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us: A Johnny Wander Collection by Yuko Ota and Ananth Hirsh

ocamftuTitle: Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us: A Johnny Wander Collection

Author: Yuko Ota and Ananth Hirsh

Release Date: April 11

Publisher: Oni Press

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

In 2008, Ananth Hirsh and Yuko Ota launched the auto-bio webcomic Johnny Wander. Eight years, four cats, and three moves are chronicled in this gorgeous hardcover omnibus, which includes a foreword by Raina Telgemeier (Smile, Ghosts). Hirsh and Ota’s charming reverie about new adulthood will appeal to fans of Kate Beaton, Bryan Lee O’Malley, and Jeffrey Brown along with anyone who’s just winging it.” (Source: Goodreads)

This collection of comics follows the lives of Yuko Ota, Ananth Hirsh, and their roommates as they move to a new house and get new pets. Culminating in Hirsh and Ota’s engagement. Of course there’s also cats. I enjoyed this collection a lot, it felt kind of like a Lucy Knisley book a little, though it never got quite as serious as her stuff usually is.

This book was a lot of fun to read. I grew to really like the people in this book. I really enjoy this slice of life type of writing. The hourly comics especially were fun. I really liked the cats….they were super cute!

I wasn’t a huge fan of the colours on the pages, it made things a little hard to read. If it had been black and white it might have been a little easier for me to read. I still liked the art aside from that though.

I would definitely recommend this book. I look forward to reading more by this pair.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us: A Johnny Wander CollectionLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Yuko Ota at her Twitter and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!