ARC Review: The Wendy Project by Melissa Jane Osborne and Veronica Fish

Title: The Wendy Project

Author: Melissa Jane Osborne and Veronica Fish

Release Date: July 18

Publisher: Super Genius

Source: Papercutz on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

16-year-old Wendy Davies crashes her car into a lake on a late summer night in New England with her two younger brothers in the backseat. When she wakes in the hospital, she is told that her youngest brother, Michael, is dead. Wendy — a once rational teenager – shocks her family by insisting that Michael is alive and in the custody of a mysterious flying boy. Placed in a new school, Wendy negotiates fantasy and reality as students and adults around her resemble characters from Neverland. Given a sketchbook by her therapist, Wendy starts to draw. But is The Wendy Project merely her safe space, or a portal between worlds? (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading

ARC Review: Far Out Fairy Tales by Joey Comeau, Louise Simonson, Sean Tulien, Otis Frampton, Omar Lozano, Jimena Sanchez S, Fernando Cano, and Benjamin Harper

Title: Far Out Fairy Tales

Author: Joey Comeau, Louise Simonson, Sean Tulien, Otis Frampton, Omar Lozano, Jimena Sanchez S, Fernando Cano, Benjamin Harper

Publisher: Stone Arch Books

Source: Capstone on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

What do you get when classic fairy tales are twisted about, turned inside out, and reworked for the graphic novel format? Far Out Fairy Tales! Discover what Snow White would be like if she were raised by robots. Find out how Cinderella’s story plays out when she walks the path of the ninja. Play along when three billy goats named Gruff get stuck inside a video game. Chase down the Big Bad Wolf with the help of a superpowered Red Riding Hood! Each fairy tale revision holds true to the spirit of the original while adding a modern twist to the classictales we know and love. Experience fairy tales like never before in this innovative series of full-color comic books for kids! (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading

ARC Mini-Review: Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt by Ben Clanton

Title: Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt

Author: Ben Clanton

Release Date: May 2

Publisher: Tundra Books

Source: Penguin Random House on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

Happy-go-lucky Narwhal and no-nonsense Jelly find their inner superheroes in three new under-the-sea adventures. In the first story, Narwhal reveals his superhero alter-ego and enlists Jelly to help him figure out what his superpower is. Next, Narwhal uses his superpower to help a friend find his way back home. In the third story, Jelly is feeling blue and Narwhal comes to the rescue. Ben Clanton showcases the joys of friendship and the power of believing in yourself and others through this irresistible duo. (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading

Mini-ARC Review: Small Favors by Colleen Coover

sfTitle: Small Favors

Author: Colleen Coover

Release Date: April 26

Publisher: Oni Press

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Book Depository | Chapters

2 stars

Small Favors, the critically-acclaimed girly porno comic by Eisner award-winning cartoonist Colleen Coover, is back in print in a deluxe hardcover edition! Join Annie and her tiny taskmaster Nibbil in fun, erotic adventures sure to make you blush.  This omnibus edition will include volumes one and two of Small Favors, the never-before-collected color special, behind-the-scenes materials, and a brand-new introduction. (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading

Mini-ARC Review: Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us: A Johnny Wander Collection by Yuko Ota and Ananth Hirsh

ocamftuTitle: Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us: A Johnny Wander Collection

Author: Yuko Ota and Ananth Hirsh

Release Date: April 11

Publisher: Oni Press

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

In 2008, Ananth Hirsh and Yuko Ota launched the auto-bio webcomic Johnny Wander. Eight years, four cats, and three moves are chronicled in this gorgeous hardcover omnibus, which includes a foreword by Raina Telgemeier (Smile, Ghosts). Hirsh and Ota’s charming reverie about new adulthood will appeal to fans of Kate Beaton, Bryan Lee O’Malley, and Jeffrey Brown along with anyone who’s just winging it.” (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading

ARC Mini-Review: Unicorn Crossing by Dana Simpson

Title: Unicorn Crossing

Author: Dana Simpson

Release Date: March 28 (Today!)

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Source: Andrews McMeel Publishing on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check it out at Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

Phoebe and Marigold are back for a fifth installment of the award-winning series. Join in on their latest adventures – and experiments – in being themselves!

Time flies in this fifth volume of Phoebe and Her Unicorn! Follow the lovable duo as they experience somewhat-spooky Halloween parties, ecstatic snow days, and looming summer reading assignments. Although the journey of growing up can sometimes be difficult, along the way Phoebe and Marigold discover something more enduring than goblin fads, unicorn spa vacations, and even a Spell of Forgetting—their one of a kind friendship. (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading

ARC Review: Manga Classics: The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling, Crystal S. Chan, and Julien Choy

Title: Manga Classics: The Jungle Book

Author: Rudyard Kipling, Crystal S. Chan, and Julien Choy

Release Date: April 3

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Source: Udon Entertainment on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters

Heavily influenced by his childhood in British-ruled India, Rudyard Kipling created some of the most well-read children s stories in Western Culture. Book One of The Jungle Book(s) includes Mowgli s Brothers, the story of Mowgli, the abandoned man-cub who was raised by animals in the Indian jungle, Rikki-Tikki-Tavi the heroic mongoose, and Toomai of the Elephants, the tale of a young elephant-handler, and in The White Seal, we meet Kotick, a rare white-furred northern fur seal as he searches for a home where his family will not be hunted by humans. Originally published as a series of short stories for magazines in the late 1800s, the Nobel Prize-winning Rudyard Kipling would eventually publish the classic The Jungle Book in 1894.” (Source: Goodreads)

Continue reading