Review: Fairest Vol. 3: The Return of the Maharaja by Sean E. Williams, Stephen Sadowski, and Phil Jimenez

fairestTitle: Fairest Vol. 3: The Return of the Maharaja

Author: Sean E. Williams, Stephen Sadowski, and Phil Jimenez

Publisher: Vertigo

Source: Borrowed from brother

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

When Nalayani seeks the help of the Maharaja to save her village from the Dhole, she uncovers a secret that could change the Fables Universe forever: the still alive and long-thought dead Prince Charming! (Source: Goodreads)

Volume 3 of Fairest is set in the Fable world of Indu, which houses the Indian Fables, perhaps most well known being the stories of The Jungle Book. The story follows Nalayani and the Maharaja (Prince Charming) as they seek to defeat the Dhole who have been attacking villages across Indu. The story takes some unexpected turns reuniting Charming with some old friends and enemies.

I enjoyed this volume of Fairest. I thought it was fun and had some great, and unexpected, storylines. I especially enjoyed that Prince Charming made a comeback after his somewhat noble death a while back in the Fables storylines. I, of course, loved the art as I always do. This probably wasn’t my favourite story, Fairest isn’t really my favourite, especially though because this one was so heavy on the Charming and less on the female Fable.

I liked that Nalayani is the strength of her village, it was great to see her fighting. I also liked that she doesn’t succumb to Prince Charming’s charm. I think she’s a very strong character and really carried the story well. I was pleased to see Prince Charming, and especially to see some level of change in him. This really fits into the overall theme of redemption as the Fables-verse prepares for the end. I think the story did rely on Charming a little too heavily, especially as these are meant to be stories about the women of Fables. Aside from these two, there are some other interesting, but largely unexplored characters. There is one interesting character, Charming’s right-hand man, Nathoo. Nathoo is used as a way to explore sexuality in story, and I think he’s a great character for this.

I liked the storyline, though it kind of seemed pointless? Like they didn’t really accomplish much? I don’t know. They’re trying to stop the Dhole from bothering people, but that turns out to be easily fixed. Then, they fight the old Maharaja, which just seemed a little weird and random? I think the plot was a little weak. It was enjoyable, but weak. I think this book really only served as a way to redeem and reintroduce Charming into the Fables-verse before the stories all end.

I loved the art in this. I think the style worked well with the Fables. I love the cover of this volume, there’s something really eye catching and interesting about the colours. I did find some inconsistencies in the design. I didn’t like the typeface used for those people not speaking English. It was a little confusing and hard to look at sometimes. This is my only real complaint with the art though.

I think Fairest is a series worth checking out. This is certainly not the strongest volume, but the series as a whole, and the Fables-verse as a whole, are worth looking into and experiencing.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Fairest Vol. 3: The Return of the MaharajaLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Sean E. Williams at his Goodreads, Twitter, and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!