ARC Mini-Review: The Little Snowplow by Lora Koehler and Jake Parker

lsTitle: The Little Snowplow

Author: Lora Koehler and Jake Parker

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Source: Random House Canada (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

On the Mighty Mountain Road Crew, the trucks come in one size: BIG. That is, until the little snowplow joins the crew. None of the other trucks think that the little snowplow can handle the big storms, but he knows that he can do it—and just to be sure, he trains hard, pushing loads of gravel, pulling blocks of concrete, and doing plow lifts to get ready. But when a blizzard arrives, will the little snowplow’s training be enough to clear the streets and handle unexpected trouble? (Source: Goodreads)

The Little Snowplow tells the story of a little snowplow everyone believes is out of his depth when he starts working in a mountain town. It’s a cute story in the same vein as classics like Mike Mulligan and his Steam Shovel that teaches kids to always believe in themselves and that they can do anything if they set their minds to it. The new picture book features adorable art and a cute lead character.

I don’t think this is altogether a new idea, but it’s a good message to reinforce so I don’t take issue with the content. I think it was well told, and I think kids would love to join in on the little snowplows beeps throughout the book. Design-wise I think the snowplow is pretty cute, and would be a popular character, I think his smile is a little scary but that might just be me.

Overall I really liked the art, there’s something very classic and adorable about it. I think it really suited the story and made for some great holiday season reading. I highly recommend this book!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read The Little SnowplowLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Jake Parker at his website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!