Mid-Year Check In

logo nyro

This year I thought I’d do a little check-in, just to see at the halfway point of the year exactly how my goals for the year are coming along. I am currently on hiatus but I still read every single day so hopefully I’ve made some progress.

So I’ll look at my New Year’s Read-olutions and my Goodreads Challenge to see what my goals were and how far I am from finishing.

The first book I wanted to read this year was Recipe for Life by Mary Berry. I actually received this as a Christmas gift at the end of 2016 and read it in January! It was a great read, I love Mary Berry and her writing really brought a smile to my face. 1/1 so far!

Second was Les Miserables by Victor Hugo…for the third year in a row. I did not touch it. I pulled it out and had it on my bedside table…and then it got buried by newer books. 1/2 so far.

Next was The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien. I haven’t gotten to this yet, but I’m really hoping to by the end of the year. 1/3 so far.

Next was Lois Lane: Double Down by Gwenda Bond. I have not read this. I’ve started it twice and then got caught up in some other book. 1/4 :(.

Fifth was Trouble Makes a Comeback by Stephanie Tromly. I bought this back in December and read it in late January. This whole series is really fun and cute so I highly recommend. 2/5!

Sixth was Rogue One: A Star Wars Story by Alexander Freed. I read this back and February and once again it was not an amazing book the same thing I felt with previous Star Wars novelizations but it added something new to the story. 3/6

Seventh was Moshi Moshi by Banana Yoshimoto. I read this back in January and Yoshimoto did not disappoint. I am so happy that we finally got another book from her in English. Highly recommend! Also…4/7.

Next was The Batman: Knightfall storyline. I have still not gotten to this. I’m maybe not as interested as I though. :(. 4/8.

Next was Jack Frost by William Joyce. Okay so…I still haven’t even purchased this yet! And it’s been on the list for 2 years! I swear I will by Christmas! 4/9.

Finally The Authority series by Warren Ellis. I read this back in February! It was awesome! 5/10.

5/10 at the halfway point in the year is a really good number I think! I can see myself finishing at least 2 of these things by the end of the year but of course I’d love to get 10/10!

My Goodreads Challenge for 2017 is set at 100. My official number on Goodreads at the time of writing this (June 9) is 232. The trouble with that is that I use Goodreads to keep track of the comics I buy each week as well. So if we subtract the individual comic issues I’ve read this year that puts my real number at 112, which surpassses my goal for the year!

Doing pretty well so far this year I think!

Hope you’re all doing well with your reading goals this year!

Leave me a comment!

