ARC Review: Far Out Fairy Tales by Joey Comeau, Louise Simonson, Sean Tulien, Otis Frampton, Omar Lozano, Jimena Sanchez S, Fernando Cano, and Benjamin Harper

Title: Far Out Fairy Tales

Author: Joey Comeau, Louise Simonson, Sean Tulien, Otis Frampton, Omar Lozano, Jimena Sanchez S, Fernando Cano, Benjamin Harper

Publisher: Stone Arch Books

Source: Capstone on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

What do you get when classic fairy tales are twisted about, turned inside out, and reworked for the graphic novel format? Far Out Fairy Tales! Discover what Snow White would be like if she were raised by robots. Find out how Cinderella’s story plays out when she walks the path of the ninja. Play along when three billy goats named Gruff get stuck inside a video game. Chase down the Big Bad Wolf with the help of a superpowered Red Riding Hood! Each fairy tale revision holds true to the spirit of the original while adding a modern twist to the classictales we know and love. Experience fairy tales like never before in this innovative series of full-color comic books for kids! (Source: Goodreads)

Far Out Fairy Tales is a collection of fairy tales, in graphic novel form, that have modern twists, or really just twists in general on them. In a lot of cases it seemed the twists were made to make the stories more palatable for stereotypical male audiences and to remove and stereo typically girly elements from the story.

I’ve been sitting on this book forever because the ARC file expired and I never got a chance to read it, but I finally picked up the book myself and got to it. It’s definitely a fun collection of stories and would be a fun read for middle school/young adult readers.

Each story comes with some background on the original fairy tale and the changes that had been made to the story to incorporate the twist. I thought that element was really cool because it’s always fun to get to the root of a fairy tale and learn the history behind it.

I’m going to break this down by story, in the order that they appear in the book.

Ninja-rella” by Joey Comeau and Omar Lozano 2 stars
A retelling of Cinderella where Cinderella is a ninja and wants to be the Prince’s bodyguard. Right off the bat why are they all white people? Just why? The story and art are cute, the changes are sort of nice and make the story less predictably lovey dovey and overtly “girly” which was nice. I just can’t fathom making every character in a story about ninjas white. Otherwise it might have gotten a 3 star rating because the art in this story was better than all the other ones in the collection.

Red Riding Hood, Superhero” by Otis Frampton 4 stars
A retelling of Little Red Riding Hood where Red is a superhero and the Big Bad Wolf is her super villain nemesis. I thought this story was adorable! I think Frampton had a great approach, taking a girl who takes on a wolf and making her even more powerful as a superhero seems like such a natural transition. I love Frampton’s Oddly Normal series so it was fun to see him work on something a little different. I love his art but think it suits Oddly Normal a little better.

Super Billy Goats Gruff” by Sean Tulien and Fernando Cano 3 stars
This is a retelling of Three Billy Goats Gruff where the goats wind up in a video game…I think? I thought this was cute with nice art. But in all honesty it wasn’t clear what was going on, maybe it doesn’t matter but it was kind of weird to me. They eat some mushrooms and wind up in…maybe a video game? And then it’s over? I didn’t really like the way the speech was written throughout this but it wasn’t a huge problem. I just didn’t think it was amazing.

Snow White and the Seven Robots” by Louise Simonson and Jimena Sanchez S 
This retelling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfchanges the dwarfs into robots and makes Snow White’s best quality her intelligence. The change of message is kind of incredible, and really improves a story that I’ve never been fond of. The art is super cute, probably one of the best in the book, and I’d love to see more of Sanchez’s work. This is definitely the best in the entire book.

Hansel and Gretel and Zombies” by Benjamin Harper and Fernando Cano 3 stars
This is a retelling of Hansel and Gretel where the kids are zombies. It was kind of a fun twist on the idea and made me curious throughout on how they’d wind up beating the witch which was a fun twist. The art was cute in this one too. I don’t think it was my favourite, I’m not a big zombie person, but this probably made the best use of the twist aspect of this collection.

This probably wasn’t my favourite book I’ve ever read but I thought it was pretty fun and I recommend it for sure. There’s a lot of cute art and some fun stories.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Far Out Fairy TalesLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

