ARC Review: Bad Machinery Vol. 1: The Case of the Team Spirit by John Allison

bmTitle: Bad Machinery Vol 1.: The Case of the Team Spirit

Author: John Allison

Release Date: March 28

Publisher: Oni Press

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

The Case of the Team Spirit introduces readers to Jack, Linton, Sonny, Shauna, Charlotte, and Mildred: six kids navigating the treacherous waters of school and adolescence while also exploring the strange mysteries that abound in their peculiar English town of Tackleford.

Jack, Linton, and Sonny look for cures to their football club’s unexplainable woes, while Shauna, Charlotte, and Mildred try to find a way for compassion and justice to triumph in the face of die-hard sports fanaticism. But all of them should probably be more concerned with keeping on the good side of their history teacher, Mr. Bough. That is, if he has a good side… (Source: Goodreads)

Bad Machinery follows the adventures of 6 friends who solve mysteries around town. This particular case is about an apparent curse on the local football team. The group split boys vs. girls and works to solve the troubles in town cause by the local team.

I am a huge fan of John Allison’s Giant Days so I’ve been interested in reading this series for a while and this reformatting of the original trade was a perfect wat to get into it. I enjoyed it a lot but probably not as much as Giant Days. I do think this would be a great read to get MG or YA readers, it seems like a cool series to get into.

I really enjoy this type of story with young adults working in a group to solve a mystery. It has the same kind of feeling as Gotham Academy which I really like so I really enjoyed that aspect. I can’t really remember the characters very well, I think I was overwhelmed by them all but I think if I read another trade they would settle in my mind a bit better.

I liked the art, it was very cute. It definitely makes me what to get the original Giant Days issues from before the series went to Boom. I think the design of the Russian demon…curse guy was really interesting. I just enjoyed the way the characters really came through in the art. I also kind of enjoyed the way the accents were written into it.

I would definitely be interested in reading more of this. It’s elevated itself to one of my highly recommended MG/YA graphic novel series.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Bad Machinery Vol. 1: The Case of the Team SpiritLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out John Allison at his Goodreads and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

