ARC Review: Manga Classics: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Stacy King, SunNeko Lee, and Crystal Chan

Title: Manga Classics: Jane Eyre

Author: Charlotte Bronte, Stacy King, SunNeko Lee, Crystal Chan

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Source: Udon Entertainment on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

As an orphaned child, Jane Eyre is first cruelly abused by her aunt, then cast out and sent to a charity school. Though she meets with further abuse, she receives an education, and eventually takes a job as a governess at the estate of Edward Rochester. Jane and Rochester begin to bond, but his dark moods trouble her. When Jane uncovers the terrible secret Rochester has been hiding, she flees and finds temporary refuge at the home of St. John Rivers. (Source: Goodreads)

Another Manga Classic! I was a little scared they’d stopped making these because I hadn’t seen any new ones in a while, turns out there are 3 new ones! The newest one is out in just a few weeks, so to celebrate its release I will be reviewing the 2 other more recent ones in the lead up. You should also check out my old reviews of Emma, Great ExpectationsLes MiserablesThe Scarlet Letterand Pride and Prejudice.

Starting things off for my month of Manga Classics is Jane Eyre! I have never read Jane Eyre but I’ve seen a few movie adaptations of it so I knew the story fairly well. I thought it was well told and beautifully illustrated. I wouldn’t say this is my favourite Manga Classic because I didn’t feel that it really captured the sort of chill and danger of the story as I feel it should be presented, everything was sort of light and beautiful instead which doesn’t really suit a story with a murderous woman locked away in the attic!

I really enjoy the story of Jane Eyre I think it was well captured in this, they didn’t have to cut anything as they tend to do in movies, so you get a lot more of the side plots in this version than I had experienced before. I think the romance was represented well enough though I didn’t feel as passionately about it as I have in other versions or even in other Manga Classics romances. I think the pacing was alright, but not completely on point, that’s more an issue of the source text as it’s a rather long book, that seems to move sort of slowly.

The main issue I had with this was the atmosphere created in the book. It didn’t have the chill and melancholy that I would expect from the book. There is a murderous woman in the attic and I never once really felt any fear about her existence, which I should feel all the time. Maybe the problem is I am so in love with the Cary Fukunaga Jane Eyre movie and I just want that atmosphere to creep into every bit of this book and haunt me the way that movie did.

I will say that like always the art is on point. Jane was adorable, Rochester was handsome, Mrs. Rochester was haunting and scary in the few glimpses you get of her. I cannot fault this book on its art because it was astounding as per usual.

I recommend this book, it’s not my favourite in the series (that’s probably still Emma) but its good, and its definitely worth a read if you’re into manga and classics!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Manga Classics: Jane EyreLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Stacy King at her Goodreads and Twitter.
Check out Crystal Chan at her Goodreads and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “ARC Review: Manga Classics: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Stacy King, SunNeko Lee, and Crystal Chan

Leave me a comment!

