ARC Review: D4VE by Ryan Ferrier

d4veTitle: D4VE

Author: Ryan Ferrier

Publisher: IDW

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

1 star

Primetime TV; mortgages; traffic jams. The robots conquered earth, wiping out all life in the galaxy, but nothing changed. Meet D4VE, the greatest robot war hero, now trapped behind a desk at a soul-sucking day job. Can something, somewhere snap him out of this slump? Will a new presence on 34RTH ignite his long-lost spark for battle? (Source: Goodreads)

D4VE used to save the world, now he’s just unhappily married with a terrible job and a shithead son. But then the world is at stake and D4VE has to save the world again – is he up for the job?

I received an ARC of this book such a long time ago, and I missed the deadline for downloading it…so I never read it…until now! And boy was in a disappointment after such a long wait! I thought the whole book was muddled with a confusing story, awkward pacing, and crummy art. It just wasn’t for me.

I felt like D4VE was a bad ripoff of the droids we see in just about everything but especially Saga. I found him uninspired, uninteresting, and unrelatable. I couldn’t connect with him or the story at all. It was a lot of jokes that missed the mark and characters I just couldn’t be bothered with.

The plot was a bit of a mess. The pacing certainly didn’t help. I couldn’t follow it clearly and the art made the whole thing a bit distracting confusion for me. I get the basic idea of the disenfranchised robot society and all that but the whole plot was spelled out so fast it just lost the beat completely for me.

It doesn’t have the charm that a lot of the comics it seems to be riding off of have. There’s something missing…a charming lead? A cohesive plot? Better art? Some small change could make this at least tolerable but for me it was a total miss and I can’t recommend it. Go read Descender or Saga if you want droids.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read D4VELet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Ryan Ferrier at his Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

