2016 A Year in Review (Read-olution and Goodreads Challenge Results)

This year was a challenging one for me. My job became more difficult to balance with my hobby here at The Book Ramble. I am still currently on a bit of a hiatus because I’m barely sleeping as it is. I stopped doing Stacking the Shelves because it was exhausting me as well. These changes were really beneficial for me just in terms of saving time and stress for myself. I’ve reviewed a lot of exciting books this year, and read some others that didn’t get reviews on the blog (especially comics), so I feel like the blog has been filled with content that I feel quite proud of. I have some things lined up for 2017 so keep your eyes peeled!

You might remember me setting “New Years Read-olutions” at the beginning of this year. I thought I’d take some time to reflect back on those and see how many of the 10 I set I’ve actually managed to accomplish. The first was Rick The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.  I did it! I loved this book to pieces! Next up was American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis. I read this one too! It wasn’t my favourite but I’m glad I read it. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo was next. I didn’t even touch this one. The fourth book was actually the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. I am happy to say I read this one too! Fifth was the Sandman series by Neil Gaiman. I did this one too!

So far I’m at 4/5 which it actually fantastic!

The sixth book was the Starman series by James Robinson. I did this too! Jack Kirby‘s Fourth World series was another I was able to read. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson – for the second year in a row I didn’t even touch it. Jack Frost by William Joyce was one I didn’t read but I’ll surely buy soon. Finally The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents Macbeth by Ian Lendler was one I did read but didn’t really enjoy.

So I accomplished 7/10 goals. I think that’s pretty incredible since I mostly chose series.

Now, my Goodreads challenge went incredibly well on the surface but was primarily individual comic books. I set a goal of 200 books and I accomplished this goal. My official total was 556 but with the individual comics issues on there I think it’s quite a bit lower. I’d guess closer to 200 but still over the 200. I honestly didn’t think I’d reach my goal at all so I’m pretty happy that I even hit 100.

Check in tomorrow to see what I set as my goal for 2017!

Ramble on,
Kimber


What books did you read in 2016? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Did you meet your goal for the Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge? Let me know in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

