Stacking the Shelves (48)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 15 books, 29 comics, I received 1 book on NetGalley, 1 book on Edelweiss, and 4 books from publishers, I was gifted 1 book, and borrowed 13 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I purchased 15 books, most of them either comics or classics.

returnThe first book I bought this month was Return by Aaron Becker. This is the third book in his picture book series about magic crayons. I enjoyed it a lot, you can read my full review here.

twThe second book I bought was The Ward: The Life and Loss of Toronto’s First Immigrant Neighborhood edited by John LorincEllen ScheinbergMichael McClelland, and Tatum Taylor. I really enjoyed reading this collection of essays, it was incredibly interesting. My review will be up sometime later this month.

damNext I bought Gravity Falls: Dipper and Mabel and the Curse of the Time Pirates’ Treasure: A “Select Your Own Choose-venture” by Jeffrey Rowe and Lissa Rovetch. I enjoyed this book a lot as well, it was a lot of fun to read. My review is up here.

hqI bought Batman: Harley Quinn by Paul Dini. This was a good collection of Harley Quinn stories from various series. I really enjoyed it a lot.

hqghI also bought Harley Quinn’s Greatest Hits by Paul Dini and Scott Snyder. This was another collection of Harley Quin stories, though it was nowhere near as good as the other one.

tlpI bought The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. I’ve always meant to read this book but never bought a copy. After having seen the movie earlier this year I decided I really wanted to read the book so I bought it this month and read it. I really enjoyed it, it’s quite a sad story but it’s very moving.

haiAfter reading all those Harley Quinn collections I decided to buy Batman: Harley and Ivy by Paul DiniJudd WinickBruce Timm, and Joe Chiodo. I really enjoyed this book, it was largely Batman the Animated Series type comics so it was a really fun read.

frI decided to buy Fresh Romance by Sarah KuhnKate LethSarah VaughanSally Ann Thompson, and Trungles on a whim. I really enjoyed this anhology, there were a few that weren’t great but a couple of really stand out stories in this book as well. I’m really looking forward to reading more from this series.

hodThere is a series of classics on sale at Chapters right now, all on sale 3/$10 which is pretty great. I decided to get 6 of them. The first was Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad. My boyfriend mentioned it several times which planted the idea in my head to buy it.

sasI also bought Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. It’s one I’ve always meant to read but I always went for other Austen stories first.

naThe same goes for Northanger Abbey which I also bought. I’m looking forward to reading these.

totaI also bought Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs. I’ve never read it before, but I’ve always been fond of various versions of Tarzan so I thought I should check it out.

frankensteinI bought Frankenstein by Mary ShelleyI was trying to decide between this and Dracula and my boyfriend recommend Frankenstein so I picked it up.

fwtbtThe final classic I bought was For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway. I’ve always wanted to read this, though I’ve been warned that I probably won’t like it. I can’t wait to check it out either way.

icFinally, I bought Interstellar Cinderella by Deborah Underwood and Meg Hunt. This book is available at Chapters for only $6! I’ve always thought it was a super cute book so I decided to get it when we got it in at the store. It’s so adorable!!

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I bought 29 comics, including once again a few new series.

 batgirl1 batgirl2

This month I started reading Batgirl by Hope Larson and Rafael Albuquerque with issues #1 and #2I’m really not enjoying this series as much as I had hoped I would. I’m not huge on the art but even worse is the lack of plot.

 mgadd9 mgadd10

I got Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #9 and #10 by Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclare. This series continues to be one of my favourites, I especially liked the Ms. Marvel cameo in these since I have read some Ms. Marvel and love the character.

 archie10 archie11

I bought Archie #10 by Mark Waid and Veronica Fish and #11 by Mark WaidThomas Pitilli, and Ryan Jampole. This series is still good but probably not as strong as it used to be, the story just isn’t as tight anymore.

hq1I picked up Harley Quinn #1 by Amanda ConnerJimmy Palmiotti, and Chris Hardin. I was going to continue it but it just wasn’t interesting enough, and I don’t know the characters from the New 52 run well enough to care.

bounty2I got Bounty #2 by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Mindy Lee. This series is definitely getting more interesting, and the art is pretty great.

vl3I picked up Vote Loki #3 by Christopher HastingsLangdon Foss, and Tradd Moore this month as well. I’m still not really that into this series, but there’s only 1 issue left so I’ll finish it up.

animosityI picked up the first issue of Animosity by Marguerite Bennett and Rafael de Latorre this month. I really enjoyed this issue and I’ll definitely be continuing on with the series. I’m hoping it doesn’t go the way of Bombshells and start to disappoint me.

dcb16I also got DC Bombshells #16 by Marguerite BennettLaura Braga, and Mirka Andolfo. This will definitely be the last issue that I read of this series, I cannot keep excusing this series because it used to be good. The writing is bad, the art is sloppy, it’s just bad.

 ga4 ga5

I got Green Arrow #4 and #5 by Benjamin PercyJuan Ferreyra, and Otto Schmidt. I’m still really enjoying this series a lot, it just keeps getting more interesting. It would be cool if it had been titled Green Arrow and Black Canary as it is sort of a duo series.

pg8I picked up Paper Girls #8 by Brian K. VaughanCliff Chiang, and Matt Wilson. I’m still really enjoying this series but it would be great if we started getting some more answers.

jughead8I picked up Jughead #8 by Chip Zdarsky and Derek Charm. This is Zdarsky’s last issue and also…his best one, which is unfortunate. I’m excited fort he new team and the inclusion of Sabrina next month.

mtt1I got Marvel Tsum Tsum #1 by Jacob ChabotDavid Baldeon, and Chris Samnee. I thought it was really fun, I’m a big fan of the tsum tsum game so it was great to read the story. I’m excited for more!

nsm2I got New Super-Man #2 by Gene Luen Yang and Viktor Bogdanovic. It will be my last issue of this series, I can’t get into it at all. It’s not as fun or clever as it seems to think it is and it’s certainly not very original.

ac4I got Another Castle #4 by Andrew Wheeler and Paulina Ganucheau. I still love this series, it’s so cute. I’m excited for more!

flintstones2Flintstones #2 by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh was even better than the first issue. I really liked the stuff about the religions in particular. This series has some great satire in it.

backstagersI got the first issue of Backstagers by James Tynion IV and Rian Sygh. It’s a fun series, I think I’ll continue with it because it seems like an interesting concept.

batbopI also got Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #1 by Shawna BensonJulie Benson, and Claire Roe. This series has pretty terrible art, but the plot is a little more fun than the solo Batgirl series.

ihf8I got I Hate Fairyland #8 by Skottie Young. I really like this series, though this issue had some weird art. It was really fun, I like the new character so I’m hoping it actually stick around.

srI picked up Supergirl Rebirth by Steve Orlando and Emanuela Lupacchino. It really wasn’t my favourite, but I’m going to keep trying it out as least for now. I’ll definitely drop it if it’s not great though I’ve already given too many mediocre series too many chances.

snotgirl2I picked up Snotgirl #2 by Bryan Lee O’Malley and Leslie Hung. This series is so strange, not at all what I expected, but I’m obsessed with it. It’s so unique and I’m excited for more.

hlbb4This month I finally got Harley’s Little Black Book #4 by Amanda ConnerJimmy PalmiottiWillian Tucci, and Joseph Michael Lisner which has been repeatedly been pushed back. I wasn’t crazy about it unfortunately, but I’m excited for the next one featuring Superman.

 ramlps1 ramlps2

I also picked up Rick and Morty: Lil’ Poopy Superstar #1 and #2 by Sarah Graley and Marc Ellerby on a whim. I realllllly enjoyed these issues and I’m really looking forward to more. It was a fun little treat for me because I love the show so much.

loww9I bought The Legend of Wonder Woman #9 by Renae de Liz. This is the final issue, which sucks because it’s a great series, but it was a wonderful series. Amazing final issue!

cw2cs5So a kind of random final purchase this month was Civil War II: Choosing Sides #5 by Declan Shalvey, Chip Zdarsky, Enrique Carrion, Ramón Pérez, Annapaola Martello, and Cameron Stewart. This issue of the series famously features Canada’s Prime Minister Justin Trudeau so I had to buy it. I, of course, got the Justin Trudeau variant cover.

NETGALLEY

This month I got 1 book on NetGalley from EntangledTEEN.

tsibanI received The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller. You can read my review here. I enjoyed it, it was a fun book though not incredible.

EDELWEISS

I received 1 book on Edelweiss from Katherine Tegen Books.

tloaI received The Last of August by Brittany Cavallaro. I really enjoyed the first book in this series (review here) so I’m looking forward to reading this soon.

PUBLISHER

I received 4 books from Random House Canada this month.

oiatcmThis first book I received was Once in a Town Called Moth by Trillby Kent. This sounds fairly interesting so I’ll check it out eventually.

ochI also received Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland. This sounds alright but to be honest I’m not super interested…I might give it away.

illt

Another one I don’t have a ton of interest in is It Looks Like This by Rafi Mittlefehldt.

koaI did get one book I was excited to see though! Kids of Appetite by David Arnold. I’ve been looking forward to this one so I’m excited I was sent it.

GIFTS

This month I received 1 gift from my awesome coworker/friend.

hpatccI was given Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne. She was so awesome and sweet to give me the copy she had won in a raffle. Now…I did also buy a copy for my brother so I did spend money on this new Potter adventure. I didn’t write a review of this book, I did enjoy it but it certainly wasn’t on the same level as the original series.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 13 books from my boyfriend. All comic books of course.

 dc937 dc938 dc939

I borrowed Detective Comics #937 by James Tynion IVRaul Fernandez, and Alvaro Martinez#938 by James Tynion IV and Alvaro Martinez, and #939 by James Tynion IVEber Ferreira, and Eddy Barrows. This series is definitely one of my favourites right now. It’s fun and interesting with great team ups.

 nightwing1 nightwing2nightwing3

I also borrowed Nightwing #1#2, and #3 by Tim Seeley and Javier Fernandez. This series is alright but definitely nowhere near as interesting as Grayson was.

 ww3 ww4 ww5

I borrowed Wonder Woman #3#4, and #5 by Greg RuckaLiam Sharp, and Nicola Scott. I’m enjoying this, though I much prefer the current stuff over the origin story which surprises me. I guess it just can’t compare to Legend of Wonder Woman for me.

ssrWe both started reading Suicide Squad Rebirth by Rob Williams and Phillip Tan this month. It was pretty intersting, a much better comic than Harley Quinn for me. Also seems better than the movie.

ss1So, of course I also borrowed Suicide Squad #1 by Rob Williams and Jim Lee. It was pretty intersting but I’ll definitely continue reading it.

asbI also borrowed Batman All-Stars #1 by Scott SnyderJohn Romita Jr., and Declan Shalvey. This series is kind of amazing. It’s thrilling and unique, very interesting stuff happening so I’m excited for more.

bcFinally, I borrowed Bone: Coda by Jeff Smith. I recently read this series because my boyfriend made me, and I loved it. It is exciting to see the Bones again and I loved reading all the background info.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

