Review: Gravity Falls: Dipper and Mabel and the Curse of the Time Pirates’ Treasure: A “Select Your Own Choose-venture” by Jeffrey Rowe and Lissa Rovetch

damTitle: Gravity Falls: Dipper and Mabel and the Curse of the Time Pirates’ Treasure: A “Select Your Own Choose-venture”

Author: Jeffrey Rowe and Lissa Rovetch

Publisher: Disney Press

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Once upon a time . . . travel, Blendin Blandin searches for the legendary Time Pirates’ Treasure, and he needs Dipper and Mabel’s help! They journey through time, exploring the dragon-infested medieval era, the weird-and-wild west, and the laser-and-giant-baby-filled future. Will they make the right choices to find the greatest treasure ever known? Or is it only a matter of time before the twins and Blendin are clutched by the hands of time?! (Source: Goodreads)

In this choose your own adventure story, Dipper and Mabel team up with Blendin Blandin to find the greatest treasure of all time – the Time Pirates’ Treasure. A series of choices will lead the reader and the team to either the future, medieval times, or the wild west. The team faces bandits, deranged miners, dragons, knights, and the Time Pirates themselves in this crazy, non-canon tale.

I really love Gravity Falls it was one of my favourite shows when it was still on, so I jumped at the chance to experience some more adventures with Dipper and Mabel. The best part of this book was that there really were just a ton of adventures to go on. Unfortunately I am not crazy about choose your own adventure stories because they’re just a pile of stress and confusion for me, but I think this is great fun for younger readers. I loved reading about adventures that I think were really realistic to what Mabel and Dipper would usually get up to though.

The whole adventure is really fun. I liked the options that were given, and I read every single path and every single option. There weren’t any that were significantly better than others, it was consistently good across the board. I think my favourite might have been the future stuff just because a lot of funny stuff came out of that.

One of the weird things about a Gravity Falls book is that it tries to capture the visual gags of the TV show but that’s not really great to read. It reads as kind of awkward or forced at times. It’s hard to capture the same sort of humor and while I think they did the best they could with this book it wasn’t amazing.

One really cool thing about this book is that it has a secret relevant to canon hidden down one of the paths! I wasn’t 100% sure what to make of it but it’s pretty exciting!

I do recommend this book to fans of the series, I’ll definitely to passing it along to my friends.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Gravity Falls: Dipper and Mabel and the Curse of the Time Pirates’ Treasure: A “Select Your Own Choose-venture”Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

