Stacking the Shelves (47)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 9 books, 18 comics, I received 1 book on NetGalley, and borrowed 32 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I bought 9 books. A lot of them were from Book Outlet, because I did a big teen foreign exchange romance haul.

saga6I bought Saga Vol. 6 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. I really enjoyed this trade of the series and I’m looking forward to more!

gmpI bought The Great Mouse Plot by Roald Dahl from Book Depository earlier this months. I accidentally ordered 50 copies of it though – it was only $10!! – so I’m donating the rest of the copies to charity. I enjoyed the story of this Dahl book also.

ayI read Me Before You this month so I also bought After You by Jojo Moyes. I haven’t had a chance to read it yet but I’m looking forward to it.

jcI ordered a bunch of teen romance novels about falling in love while travelling the world, all of them were ordered from Book Outlet (which is one of my favourite stores). The first one I bought was The Juliet Club by Suzanne Harper.

hscakI also bought Hot Scots, Castles, and Kilts by Tammy Swoish. I’ve started this one already, it’s really not great but I’m having a good time reading it.

hasI also got some more books from the S.A.S.S. series. First was Heart and Salsa by Suzanne Nelson. This series is generally not amazing but they’re really fun reads so I’m looking forward to this.

nazI also got Now and Zen by Linda Gerber from the S.A.S.S. series.

goThe final S.A.S.S. book I bought was Girl Overboard by Aimee Ferris.

syigtmThe final book I bought this month was Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin. This book sounds pretty cute so I’m looking forward to it.

PURCHASED – COMICS

I bought 18 comics this month, including a bunch of new series!

 loww7 loww8

First up I bought Legend of Wonder Woman #7 and #8 by Renae De Liz. I absolutely love this series, it’s disappointing that it will end in the next issue but I am so happy to have read it.

garI decided to pick up Green Arrow Rebirth by Benjamin Percy and Otto Schmidt after hearing so much great buzz about it. I was very intrigued and decided to keep going with the series.

 ga1 ga2 ga3

I picked up Green Arrow #1#2, and #3 by the same team with Juan Ferreyra on issue 3. I’m still really enjoying the series and I’m looking forward to more.

bountyI picked up Bounty #1 by Kurtis Wiebe and Mindy Lee this month. I really enjoyed this, it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting but it was still good. I’ll definitely keep reading it from now on.

pg7I got Paper Girls #7 by Brian K Vaughan and Cliff Chiang. This continues to be one of my favourite series though I would really like to see some story progression soon.

vlI picked up Vote Loki #2 by Christopher Hastings. I don’t love this series but at only 4 issues I can live with it.

flintstonesI picked up The Flintstones #1 by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh because I heard that it was unusual, and it sure was! I think I’ll keep reading it though because it’s just so strange.

flash 2I picked up The Flash #2 by Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Giandomenico. It will be my last issue of the series. The art is so awful and the plot is just confusing so I am just going to drop it.

gv4I bought Goldie Vance #4 by Hope LarsonBrittney Williams, and Sarah Stern. I was so glad to hear this got extended because it’s such a good series!

nsmI picked up New Super-Man #1 by Gene Luen Yang and Viktor Bogdanovic on a whim. I’m not a big fan of Yang’s other work, but I actually really enjoyed this, so I’ll keep reading it.

bombshells15I bought DC Bombshells #15 by Marguerite BennettLaura BragaMirka Andolfo, and Sandy Jarrell. I am constantly on the verge of quitting this series but I really enjoyed this one so I’m hooked in again!

bgatboprI picked up Batgirl and the Birds of Prey Rebirth by Julie Benson and Claire Roe. I didn’t really enjoy it, it had some of the ugliest art of any Rebirth series so far, I’ll keep reading to see if the story is any good.

bavI got Betty and Veronica #1 by Adam Hughes. It was…alright? It certainly wasn’t as good as any of the other Archie reboots. Picking a variant was torture there were way too many.

ihf7I picked up I Hate Fairyland #7 by Skottie Young. It was really good!!! I love this series so much, can’t wait for more.

snotgirlFinally, I bought Snotgirl #1 by Bryan Lee O’Malley and Leslie Hung. It wasn’t exactly what I was expecting but I really enjoyed it, definitely worth checking out!

NETGALLEY

This month I received 1 book on NetGalley from Andrews McMeel Publishing.

rduI got Razzle Dazzle Unicorn by Dana Simpson. I continue to love this series so I’m looking forward to reading this closer to the release date.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 32 books, which were primarily individual comic book issues that I borrowed from my boyfriend.

grayson3I borrowed the Grayson Annual #3 by Jackson Lanzing, Collin Kelly, Roge Antonio, Javier Fernández, Christian Duce, and Flaviano from my boyfriend. I really enjoyed it, it was a nice little treat post-series.

visionI borrowed The Vision Vol. 1: Little Worse Than a Man by Tom King and Gabriel Hernandez Walta from a friend at work. I enjoyed it even though it was incredibly strange. I’ll definitely check out the next trade.

 dc934 dc935 dc936

I borrowed Detective Comics #934#935, and #936 by James Tynion IVEddy Barrows, and Alvaro Martinez from my boyfriend. This has quickly become one of my most anticipated series every other week.

ww2I borrowed Wonder Woman #2 by Greg Rucka and Nicola Scott from my boyfriend. It was not what I was expecting and thus sort of disappointing. Maybe I’ve just been bogged down with too many origin stories this year?

nrI borrowed Nightwing Rebirth by Tim Seeley and Yanick Paquette from my boyfriend. I enjoyed it a lot, I’m definitely going to keep going with this series.

 orion 1 orion 2 orion 3 orion 4 orion 5 orion 6 orion 7 orion 8 orion 9 orion 10 orion 11 orion 12 orion 13 orion 14 orion 15 orion 16 orion 17 orion 18 orion 19 orion 20 orion 21 orion 22 orion 23 orion 24 orion 25

The final 25 books are the Orion series by Walter Simonson which I borrowed from my boyfriend as individual issues. It was such a good series with an excellent use and understanding of the Fourth World series. I would highly recommend it to fans of that Jack Kirby series.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

