ARC Review: Luna the Vampire Vol. 1: Grumpy Space by Yasmin Sheihk

ltvTitle: Luna the Vampire Vol. 1: Grumpy Space

Author: Yasmin Sheikh

Release Date: July 12

Publisher: IDW Publishing

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Ever wondered how it would be if outer space was populated by monsters? LOOK NO FURTHER! As this is the AMAZING everyday life of Luna the Vampire. Jam packed with awesome adventures, crazy faces, zombie postmen, AND SPACE. By the power of the giant floating god heads, don’t miss out!” (Source: Goodreads)

This book follows Luna, a space vampire, as she struggles with her friends, her job, her pet, and her dating life. I must admit I thought it was pretty bad initially, it had the feel of Adventure Time or something and I’m not a fan, but it actually kind of grew on me. I liked Luna, I thought a lot of the stories were kind of relatable and I’d actually be interested in seeing more.

Luna is the most compelling part about this book. She reads like a real 20-something, she’s hostile, lazy, but most of all cute. There’s something genuinely compelling about her, you’d want to be friends with her in real life – or maybe that’s just me? I really enjoyed her as a character and I’d love to see more. Honestly, I’d love to see more of space and the space monsters in this world Sheikh’s created. I thought side characters like Helga and Kir were also relatable and realistic too, so that was great.

The art was probably the biggest turn off for me. It’s kind of crude and juvenile looking, very Adventure Time in it’s use of kind of gross expressions and content. But it kind of grew on me the longer I read. I liked that Luna wasn’t exactly pretty, and that the pretty characters we do meet are kind of gross too – that felt very Repo: The Genetic Opera to me. I still don’t love the art, but I think it suits this.

All-in-all I guess this is kind of…Adventure Time skewed a little towards 20-something girls? I don’t know if that’s accurate either. I enjoyed it, and I do recommend it.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Luna the Vampire Vol. 1: Grumpy SpaceLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

