Mid-Year Check Up

logo nyro

This year I thought I’d do a little check-in, just to see at the halfway point of the year exactly how my goals for the year are coming along.

So I’ll look at my New Year’s Read-olutions and my Goodreads Challenge to see what my goals were and how far I am from finishing.

The first book I wanted to read is The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I still haven’t read this…and it’s the second year it’s been on my list. 😦 0/1 so far.

Second was American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis. Still haven’t made much more progress in this book. So…0/2.

Next was Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. This is another one where I’ve made no progress. At 0/3 this is looking pretty bad so far.

Next up is the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I DID THIS!!! All 7 books plus Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find ThemQuidditch Through the Ages, and Tales of Beedle the Bard. So…that’s a bit of a plus for me. That puts me at 1/4.

Fifth was the Sandman series by Neil Gaiman. I DID THIS TOO!!! I finished all 10 trades, Endless NightsDeath, and Sandman Overture. 2/5!

Next was the Starman series by James Robinson. YES! Another series I finished completely. 3/6.

Seventh was the Fourth World series by Jack Kirby. Why can I only finish full series? 4/7.

Next was The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. Haven’t done this yet, not even sure where my copy went… 4/8.

Next is Jack Frost by William Joyce. Nope…I still haven’t even bought it. 4/9.

Finally…The Stratford Zoo Midnight Revue Presents MacBeth by Ian Lendler. Don’t have this one yet either. 4/10.

So 4/10 isn’t amazing but I still have half of the year to go! I think I can do at least the rest of the ones that I do own. That’ll put me at 8/10! Wish me luck!!

My Goodreads Challenge for 2016 was originally set at 100, but when my friends noticed how high my number was already jumping I changed it to 200. My official number on Goodreads at the time of writing this (4 days ago) is 255. The trouble with that is that I use Goodreads to keep track of the comics I buy each week as well. So if we subtract the 146 individual comic issues I’ve read this year that puts my real number at 109, that’s over my original goal and over halfway to my new goal which puts me well on track to finish it by December.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
How are your yearly goals coming along? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

