Stacking the Shelves (46)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 6 books, 15 comics, I received 1 book on NetGalley, and 4 books from publishers, was given 2 books as gifts, and borrowed 3 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I bought 6 books. Mostly it was just stuff I saw at work and decided to buy, though one thing on this list is super special and a huge exception.

cmidThe first thing I purchased was Camp Midnight by Steven T.Seagle and Jason Katzenstein. I loved this book so, so much. I had previously read a preview of it and thought it was cute, but the whole book was amazing. My review just went up yesterday!

sc3Next I bought Sex Criminals Vol. 3: Three the Hard Way by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky. I bought this the day it came into work because I’d been waiting on it. I really enjoyed it, this volume had some hilarious imagery and the series in general is one of my favourites.

coI also bought Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I decided to read it after finishing Harry Potter and I’ve got to say it was a huge letdown for me. My full review will be up in a few weeks time and unfortunately it’s a pretty rough read.

rq3I bought Rat Queens Vol. 3: Demons by Kurtis J. WiebeTamra Bonvillain, and Tess Fowler. I don’t know why I waited on this after reading the previous 2 trades of this series. It wasn’t my favourite trade so far but it was still excellent. Hoping to read more soon but I’ve heard the series is on hiatus right now.

sapThe last thing I bought at work this month was Step Aside, Pops by Kate Beaton. I have no idea why I waited so long to buy this because I long Kate Beaton, but hey I did it finally and it’s so worth it. I love the Hark! A Vagrant series and you should definitely check it out if you haven’t already.

ksFinally, I bought Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell in the hopes that it would make up for Carry On and boy it sure did! This is a special World Book Day book so I had to order it from a seller on Amazon but it was totally worth it. Star Wars+Rainbow Rowell=Perfection.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I bought 15 comics including some of DC’s Rebirth titles and a couple new series.

tat4 tat5 tat6

The first thing I bought, which I’m super excited about, was the ending of Toil and Trouble (Issues 45, and 6) by Mairghread Scott and Kelly Matthews. I had to hunt these down in the city after months of looking for them, finally glad to wrap up that unique Macbeth series.

dcb14Next I bought DC Bombshells #14 by Marguerite Bennett, Laura Braga, and Mirka Andolfo. It was a fairly standard issue, meaning I didn’t really like it…don’t know why I’m still reading it!

pg6Next I got Paper Girls #6 by Brian K. Vaughan. This was the first issue after a short break and it was so good! I’m even more excited about the series now than ever before.

gv3Next I got Goldie Vance #3 by Hope Larson, Brittney Williams, and Sarah Stern. This series just keeps getting better, with increasingly amazing art too.

bc12I got Black Canary #12 by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu. This was the final issue in the series and while it was better than most of the other recent issues it was still not amazing. Sad to see the series end, but looking forward to getting into other comics.

 flash fr

The only DC Rebirth title I am currently purchasing is The Flash so this month I bought The Flash Rebirth and The Flash #1 by Joshua Williamson and Carmine Di Giandomenico. I’m actually really intrigued to see how the series goes after these issues, especially because it’s my first Flash series. I only really decided to read it because I like watching the show.

ljgaI picked up Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy #1 by Chynna Clugston Flores and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell hoping it would be a cool mix of 2 series I kind of enjoy. It was not at all. I really didn’t enjoy it, it just missed the mark completely for me. I definitely won’t be reading further.

vlI also decided to try out Vote Loki #1 by Christopher HastingsLangdon Foss, and Tradd Moore. This one was more interesting and at only 4 issues I’ll probably keep going with it.

ihf6Like Paper GirlsI Hate Fairyland #6 by Skottie Young and Jean-Francois Beaulieu saw the return of one of my favourite series after a short break. I loved this issue and I’m excited for more Gert.

jughead6I got Jughead #7 by Chip Zdarksky and Derek Charm. This was the first issue with a new artist and new direction and I love it so far. I much prefer this to what was going on previously so I highly recommend it.

mgadd8I bought Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #8 by Amy ReederBrandon Montclare, and Natacha Bustos. This series continues to be adorable, fun, and amazing. It’s cool to see Lunella’s new powers at play even if I’m a little unsure how useful they will prove to be.

archie9Finally, I bought Archie #9 by Mark Waid and Veronica Fish. This was a really good issue, which has finally reignited the Archie/Betty/Veronica triangle…mostly I’m just happy for more Betty because honestly Veronica kind of sucks.

PUBLISHER

This month I received 4 books from publishers.

ghostsI received a copy of Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier from Scholastic. I loved this book so much but you’ll have to wait ’til September for the review. Believe me it’s worth the wait, this is Telgemeier’s best work yet.

kotbdI received Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden from Random House Canada. This sounds interesting, very in the spirit of Harry Potter.

fibI received Full of Beans by Jennifer L. Holm from Random House Canada. This sounds really interesting and I’ll likely try to read it pretty soon.

spontaneousFinally, I received Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer from Random House Canada. This book sounds kind of ridiculous but also super interesting!

NETGALLEY

I received 1 book on NetGalley (actually a few months back but I forgot to include it) from Penguin Random House Canada.

narwhalI received Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea by Ben Clanton. This looks so cute and I’m really looking forward to reading it, you’ll all have to wait for the review in October though.

GIFTS

This month my boyfriend gave me a couple of books as gifts after a trip to the city.

paThe first book is Pet Avengers by Stan Lee, Steve Ditko, Scott Edelman, Steven Grant, Bruce Jones, Will Murray, Fabian Nicieza, Greg Pak, Louise Simonson, Dan Slott, Marc Sumerak, Zeb Wells, Jack Kirby, June Brigman, Bob Budiansky, Peter Gillis, Larry Lieber, and Mary Jo Duffy. This was a kind of strange collection of Pet Avengers stories from across a lot of comic book history. It was enjoyable but not great.

tsThe other book he bought me was Two-Step by Warren Ellis and Amanda Conner. This was a really fun, cute, and extremely funny read. I really enjoyed it.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 2 comics from my boyfriend and 1 book from my mom.

  wwrww1

I borrowed Wonder Woman Rebirth and Wonder Woman #1 by Greg Rucka and Liam Sharp from my boyfriend. I really enjoyed both of these and I’m looking forward to seeing where the series goes from here.

stormFinally, I borrowed Storm by Amanda Sun from my mom. This should probably be the last book in the series, and I’m looking forward to seeing how it ends.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

