Mini-Review: Camp Midnight by Steven T. Seagle and Jason Adam Katzenstein

cmidTitle: Camp Midnight

Author: Steven T. Seagle and Jason Adam Katzenstein

Publisher: Image

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

Reluctant Skye is accidentally sent to the wrong summer camp. Not wanting to please her “step monster,” Skye is dead-set on not fitting in. That won’t be a problem, as everyone at Camp Midnight-with the exception of fellow camper and fast-friend Mia-is a full-fledged monster! (Source: Goodreads)

I try not to write reviews of graphic novels these days, simply because I wind up repeating myself a lot in the reviews. If you’re interesting in finding graphic novels/comics I thought were great you can check out my Goodreads shelf. That said, I really wanted to share this one with my readers because I liked it so much. Camp Midnight is about a young girl mistakenly sent to a camp for monsters, and while she wants to hate it there she really learns to love it and to accept herself for who she is more. That entire premise is just amazing, and it’s so well executed in this fabulous graphic novel for MG and YA readers.

The characters are amazing, the story is well paced and thrilling, and above all…the art. The art is grim and colourful all at the same time. It’s also rooted in this history of art and makes reference to other artists frequently. There’s obvious references to Edvard Munch’s The Scream which even younger audiences are likely to recognize. There’s another one though that really stood out to me – Kirby Hand. There’s a panel where Katzenstein illustrates Skye’s hand to look like a Jack Kirby-style illustration and it made me giggle with delight.

I cannot even begin to describe how much I loved this book. It’s perfect for fans of Oddly NormalPrincess Decomposia and Count Spatula, and even Harry Potter. I cannot recommend this highly enough!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Camp MidnightLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Jason Katzenstein at his Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “Mini-Review: Camp Midnight by Steven T. Seagle and Jason Adam Katzenstein

Leave me a comment!

