ARC Review: Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

lrTitle: Love, Rosie

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Publisher: Hachette Books

Source: Hachette Books on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Best friends since forever, Rosie and Alex have shared their hopes, dreams – and firsts. But one awkward moment at eighteen, one missed opportunity, and life sends them hurtling in different directions. Although they stay in touch, misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck seem to be conspiring to keep them apart. Can they gamble everything – even their friendship – on true love? (Source Goodreads)

Rosie and Alex have been best friends their entire lives. They’ve also been in love their whole lives. Unfortunately they always miss their shot to be together. Spanning their lives from age 5 to 50 we watch Rosie and Alex struggle through life – together and apart – all the while trying to find the perfect ending – the one where they’re finally together.

I thought Love, Rosie was cute and charming. I had already seen the movie adaptation before reading the book and I have to say the book was significantly better than the movie. I thought the pacing of the book was more reasonable and the romance more real. While the book was charming it was also a little long, sometimes dull, and definitely not my favourite writing style because it was an epistolary novel. The whole things written in letters and emails between all the characters in the book – though weirdly the epilogue is in third person perspective.

We primarily follow Rosie in this book, she’s at the center of everything. I thought she was charming, though exceptionally defeatist. I didn’t find her to have much agency which means the book feels very idle at times. She just does what everyone else tells her to do and it’s kind of a bore. Alex is technically our other lead in the book but he will often disappear for tens of pages without so much as a word. I thought the romance between the pair was much more interesting in this book than in the movie. I often find letters a really great way of conveying romance, so that aspect of the epistolary novel worked for me.

The plot of Love, Rosie drags on quite a bit. I think that was the one positive of the movie – it ends a lot sooner. The book go on into the pairs 50s, so we get a lot of repeated plot points. That means the book tends to get a little repetitive and a lot dull at times. I feel like Ahern tried to fit in so many problems into this book that it just felt a little bit like grasping at straws the longer the book went on. I think it was shockingly realistic, but I don’t know that that makes for the most engaging novel.

I am not a huge fan of epistolary novels. Especially when the text moves into chatroom and texting. I think it makes the whole thing confusing, especially as you pile on more and more characters. That’s something Ahern tends to do. I think we get a great ensemble in Love, Rosie, but we get a lot of really unnecessary side plots along with them which makes all the epistolary stuff really confusing. The chatroom scenes in particular were very hard to understand.

I think the book is alright, if you’re into contemporary romances this is definitely a good read. It wasn’t my favourite but it wasn’t bad. It’s cute and worth a shot.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Love, RosieLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Cecelia Ahern at her Twitter and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

