Stacking the Shelves (44)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 9 books, 10 comics, I received 2 books on NetGalley, 2 books on Edelweiss, 5 books from publishers, 2 books from authors, borrowed 2 books, and was given 3 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I bought 9 books, most of these were really spur of the moment purchases.

omttpFirst I bought Guy Delisle‘s The Owner’s Manual to Terrible Parenting. I love Delilse, he’s one of my favourite graphic novelists. I have been recommending the hell out of this series in particular, and wound up lending this book and the 2 previous ones out to my brother and my boyfriend.

ga2I bought Gotham Academy Vol. 2: Calamity by Brenden FletcherBecky Cloonan, and Karl Kerschl. This series is so cool and I’m really glad to hear the creative team is coming back in the fall to continue it.

awaI picked up Afterlife with Archie Vol. 1: Escape From Riverdale by Roberto Aguirre-Sasca and Francesco Francavilla after it was confirmed more issues of the series would be coming out this summer. I really enjoyed this trade and lent it to my boyfriend as soon as I finished it.

phonogramI’m a pretty big fan of Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie so I picked up Phonogram Vol. 1: Rue Britannia earlier this month. I enjoyed it but I didn’t really feel that I understood it. It definitely was not my favourite of their work and I’d recommend The Wicked and the Divine or Young Avengers over this any day.

roomI bought Emma Donoghue‘s Room after I watched the movie earlier this month. I really enjoyed it, you can read my review when it goes up next month.

gdI bought Giant Days Volume 2 by John Allison the moment it came into the store. I read the whole thing on the bus ride home too. It was excellent, this series has quickly elevated itself to one of my favourite ongoing series.

brooklynI ordered Brooklyn by Colm Toibin online after I watched the movie. I wasn’t a huge fan of the movie so I’m curious to see what the source material is like.

uaI picked up Umbrella Academy Vol. 1: The Apocalypse Suite by Gerard Way and Gabriel Ba when I saw it on sale at The Beat Goes On. I own the original issues from the run but I never actually read them, and I thought it would be more convenient to read it this way. I really enjoyed it so I’m going to keep my eyes peeled for the other trades.

cis3Finally, I bought Cleopatra in Space Book 3: Secret of the Time Tablets by Mike Maihack the day it came into the store as well. I absolutely love this series and highly recommend it to anyone.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I bought 10 comics, including 1 new series.

batgirl50I picked up Batgirl #50 by Cameron StewartBrenden Fletcher, and Babs Tarr. This was the issue wrapping up the final arc of their run. It was a good conclusion but I’m sad to see the team going.

archie7I got Archie #7 by Mark Waid and Veronica Fish. I wasn’t a huge fan of this issue, it was a little boring for me, but the series in general continues to be good. I’m excited about the upcoming Betty and Veronica series they’ve just announced too!

hqatssI picked up Harley Quinn and the Suicide Squad April Fool’s Day Special #1 by Rob WilliamsJim Lee, and Sean Galloway, I really did not enjoy this at all! The whole thing was an awkward lead in to the new Suicide Squad post-Rebirth series.

bc10I picked up Black Canary #10 by Brenden Fletcher and Sandy Jarrell. I thought this was awful, and it sucks because the series is almost over and it feels like the whole thing is going out with a terrible whimper. The art was terrible, the story was boring. Disappointing.

bombshells11I bought DC Bombshells #11 by Marguerite BennettLaura Braga, and Mirka Andolfo. The story was all kind of bland, the art was inconsistent and bleh. And there were a lot of forced lesbian relationships suddenly popping up. This series is off the rails at this point.

loww4I picked up The Legend of Wonder Woman #4 by Renae de Liz. Weirdly this series is starting to have some similar plot points to Bombshells, fortunately it’s much better written with much better art. Etta Candy was fabulous in this.

gvI started a new series with Goldie Vance #1 by Hope LarsonBrittany Williams, and Sarah Stern. This series is off to an incredible start! I loved it and highly recommend it.

ac2I wasn’t sure I would, but I picked up Another Castle #2 by Andrew Wheeler and Paulina Ganucheau. I thought this issue was significantly better than the first one so I’m glad I picked it up.

hlbb3I bought Harley’s Little Black Book #3 by Amanda ConnerJimmy Palmiotti, and Joseph Michael Lisner. It wasn’t my favourite in this series so far but I liked reading Zatanna which I haven’t before.

jonesy3Finally, I bought Jonesy #3 by Sam Humphries and Caitlin Rose Boyle. This series has ultimately turned out to be disappointing. It’s confusingly written and nothing seems to be happening, luckily there’s only 1 issue left.

NETGALLEY

This month I received 2 books on NetGalley, both from Diamond Book Distributors.

ltvFirst I received Luna the Vampire Vol. 1: Grumpy Space by Yasmin Sheikh. This looks like it’ll be an interesting read, with funny art.

klawI also received Klaw by Antoine Ozenam and Joel Jurion. It sounds like an interesting story so I’m excited to check it out.

EDELWEISS

This month I received 2 books on Edelweiss.

cbFirst I received Bikini Chainmail: The Anthology of Women Gamers edited by Hazel Newlevant from Alternative Comics. I enjoyed reading this anthology though it wasn’t consistently good. You can read my review here.

unfollowI also received Unfollow Vol. 1 by Rob Williams and Michael Dowling from Vertigo. This sounds like an interesting concept so I’m looking forward to reading it.

AUTHOR

This month I received 2 requests from authors to read their books.

hcFirst was The Heartless City by Andrea Berthot. I’m actually in the midst of reading this right now, and so far I’m enjoying it. It’s a take on the Jekyll and Hyde story.

gsThe other book was Gracie’s Song by Michelle SchlicherYou can read my review here. There were some problems with the book, but it was an impressive idea.

PUBLISHER

I received 5 books from Penguin Canada this month.

yfpFirst I received Yiddish for Pirates by Gary Barwin. This book sounds really interesting, I’m looking forward to reading it.

shooterI also received Shooter by Caroline Pignat. It sounds like an interesting book.

btgI received Beware that Girl by Teresa Toten. I really like Toten so I’m excited to read this one.

whI received Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk. This sounds like an interesting historical fiction novel.

dmoebI also received The Dark Missions of Edgar Brim by Shane Peacock. To be honest this doesn’t sound like my typical thing but I’ll definitely try it out.

BORROWED

I borrowed 2 books from my boyfriend this month.

starman6First of all, Starman Vol. 6 by James Robinson. I was sad to finish the series off, but the ending was really great and I highly recommend the series!

hushI also borrowed Batman: Hush by Jeph Loeb and Jim Lee. I really did not enjoy this story at all, but it’s a really famous one so I figured I’d read it.

GIFTS

This month my boyfriend all gave me 3 books as gifts.

deathFirst he bought me Death by Neil Gaiman. I just finished up the whole Sandman series so I’m pretty excited to read this.

llfHe also bought me Lois Lane: Fallout by Gwenda Bond. I really enjoyed this book, and the two prequels that Bond wrote. My review will be up in a few weeks.

naheFinally, my boyfriend bought me Not Another Happy Ending by David Solomons. I enjoyed the movie version of this so I’m interested in seeing what the books like.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

