ARC Review: Red’s Planet by Eddie Pittman

rpTitle: Red’s Planet

Author: Eddie Pittman

Release Date: April 19

Publisher: Amulet Books

Source: ABRAMS Kids on NetGalley  (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-prder at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Red, a quirky, headstrong 10-year-old, longs to live in her own perfect paradise far away from her annoying foster family. But when a UFO mistakenly kidnaps her, Red finds herself farther away than she could have possibly imagined—across the galaxy and aboard an enormous spaceship owned by the Aquilari, an ancient creature with a taste for rare and unusual treasures. Before Red can be discovered as a stowaway, the great ship crashes on a small deserted planet, leaving her marooned with a menagerie of misfit aliens. With her newfound friend, a small gray alien named Tawee, Red must find a way to survive the hostile castaways, evade the ravenous wildlife, and contend with Goose, the planet’s grumpy, felinoid custodian. Surely this can’t be the paradise she’s looking for. (Source: Goodreads)

Red keeps running away from home, and one day she runs and runs until she gets abducted by some aliens and winds up crashed on a planet on the other side of the galaxy. This could be paradise for Red, it could also be the exact opposite of what she’s looking for. Together with her new friends Tawee and Goose, Red will have to survive the terrors of the new world.

I enjoyed Red’s Planet, it reminded me of a couple other really great MG comic book series BoneOddly Normal, and Cleopatra in Space. There was some really cute art throughout the book, and the story was fairly interesting. I think the trouble for me is that while it was cute and sweet and had great elements I would certainly be more inclined to reach for Bone or Cleopatra in Space over Red’s Planet.

I think Red was alright as a lead. She didn’t have much to her though, which made her a little bit of a disappointment. I want more about her, why is she running? What’s she running from? Where’s she running to? There wasn’t really any of that at all in this book though. There were a couple of other good characters, like Goose, whose gruff and interesting. And Tawee, the cute little alien she spends her time with. The trouble is that they’re not developed either and Tawee just disappears and is forgotten about halfway through the adventure.

I don’t know if this book brought anything new to the table for me. It felt like a story I already knew, and it felt like it really borrowed elements from things like Bone without offering anything new to the table. I thought it was cute, there was adorable art throughout the book. I just don’t know that the whole package really captured me. I can hardly remember the story after only a day or two, and that’s not a good sign.

I think this is worth a read, especially if you like the other books I’ve mentioned so far in this review, but I don’t know if I’d be likely to continue on with the story.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Red’s PlanetLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Eddie Pittman at his Goodreadswebsite, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

