Stacking the Shelves (43)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 5 books, 8 comics, 1 audiobook, and I attended a box sale where I got 6 books. I also received 1 book on NetGalley, 2 books on Edelweiss, 2 books from publishers, 1 book from an author directly, and borrowed 7 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I purchased 5 books. Half of which I bought at Book Outlet in Saint Catherines.

apolloI bought George O’Connor‘s Apollo: The Brilliant One online this month. I liked this book a lot, you can read my review here. I’m excited for the next book in the series.

 sandman 10 sen

I bought Sandman: Volume 10 and Endless Nights by Neil Gaiman this month. I still haven’t read the ones I bought last month but I wanted to collected the rest before finishing it all off.

otdamI picked up OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn at Book Outlet while I was there. I’ve been trying to find this for a while now so I’m glad I finally got it.

unabrowI also bought Unabrow by Una LaMarche while I was at the sale. I’m really looking forward to this book.

PURCHASED – AUDIOBOOKS

While I was at Book Outlet this month I bought an audiobook because I’m going on a long car trip later in April and I thought it would be fun to try an audiobook while we’re driving.

siwwI bought Olivia Munn‘s Suck it Wonder Woman because my boyfriend and I are both pretty fond of Olivia Munn. I’m pretty excited to listen to it.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I purchased 8 comics, including 1 new series.

batgirl49I bought Batgirl #49 by Cameron StewartBrenden Fletcher, and Babs Tarr this month. I really enjoyed this issue and I’m looking forward to issue #50 but I’m disappointed to hear that the creative team will soon change.

bombshells10I purchased DC Bombshells #11 by Marguerite BennettLaura Braga, and Marguerite Sauvage. It was a better issue than there has been in a while, I’m still kind of on the fence with this series but I’m hoping it’s winding down to an end soon.

loww3I bought The Legend of Wonder Woman #3 by Renae de Liz. This series is definitely getting more intense and so far I’m enjoying this version of the Wonder Woman story. I’m looking forward to more!

acI picked up the first issue of Another Castle by Andrew Wheeler and Paulina Ganuchcheau this month. I enjoyed the art but I’m not really that interested in the story so I’m not sure if I’ll continue to read it in the future.

bc9I also got Black Canary #9 by Matthew Rosenberg and Moritat. This is by far the worst issue of this series so far, and it only makes me sadder knowing that the series has been cancelled. So disappointing.

jonesy2I bought Jonesy #2 by Sam Humphries and Caitlin Rose Boyle. I found it pretty boring which sucks because I loved the first issue. I’m hoping the rest of the series doesn’t play out like this.

jughead5I bought Jughead #5 by Chip Zdarsky and Erica Henderson. I continue to find this series bizarre, and the art terrible, but I’m getting into it a lot more.

mgadd5Finally, I bought Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #5 by Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclare. I absolutely love this series, the characters are so cute and the story is just amazing.

PURCHASED – BOX SALE

This month I went to a box sale at Book Outlet and in the box my family bought all together I got 6 books.

carsickI picked up Carsick by John Waters. I’ve been wanting to read this for a while after it was recommended to me. I might take it as my travel read when I go away later in April.

liI picked up Lock In by John Scalzi. I’ve not read Scalzi before so I’m excited to try it out.

slI picked up Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler. I’ve always been drawn to this book but I’ve never actually picked it up so I figured I wouldn’t pass it up when it was such a good deal.

zI picked up Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler. This is another one I’ve always meant to buy, I’m looking forward to reading it someday.

stisasI picked up Somewhere There is Still a Sun by Michael Gruenbaum and Todd Hasak-Lowy. This is a holocaust memoir, so I’m really interested in reading it and adding it to my collection.

gdI picked up Girl Defective by Simmone Howell. This is another one I’ve been meaning to get for a while.

EDELWEISS

This month I received 2 books on Edelweiss.

tssI received This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab from Greenwillow Books. I’m really looking forward to this, it looks amazing and I adore Schwab.

iaocgI received The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil from Peachtree Publishers. I really did not enjoy this book unfortunately. You can read my review here.

 NETGALLEY

This month I received 1 book on NetGalley from Capstone.

bfbI received Bedtime for Batman by Michael Dahl and Ethen Beavers. This looks super cute and I’m looking forward to reading it.

PUBLISHER

This month I received 2 books from Penguin Canada.

asic

I received A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro. I’d already gotten a digital ARC and then a physical ARC arrived in the mail too! I loved this book so I’m pretty pleased to have a physical ARC now too. My review is here.

alightI received Alight by Scott Sigler. I haven’t read the first book in the series so I’ll have to do that first!

AUTHOR

This month I was lent a book by author E.K. Johnston.

epbabMy friend and former coworker E. K. Johnston let me borrow a copy of her fabulous book Exit, Pursued by a Bear this month. I loved it, and I really appreciate her letting me read it ahead of release. Please check out my review and read the book!

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 7 books, almost all of them from my boyfriend.

 grayson17 grayson18

I borrowed Grayson #17 and #18 by Tim SeeleyTom King, Carmine Di GiandomenicoJackson Lanzing, Collin Kelly, Roge Antonio, and Geraldo Borges from my boyfriend. This series is winding down to an end, which sucks because I really like it. We wound up having to get the Batman v. Superman cover for #18 which was unfortunate because we didn’t really liked the movie.

mtI borrowed The Masked Truth by Kelley Armstrong from my mother. I haven’t had a chance to read this yet, but my mother tells me it’s really good so I’m excited.

 starman3 starman4 starman5

I borrowed Starman Vol. 34, and 5 by James Robinson from my boyfriend. This series became one of my favourites pretty quickly and I’m nearly at the end!

wehttmotFinally, I borrowed Superman: Whatever Happened to the Man of Tomorrow? by Alan Moore from my boyfriend. I’ve already read the first story in this but I’m happy to reread it, it also has some other Moore stories in it, so I’m really enjoying reading the new stuff.

FUN STUFF

This month I bought a few fun things that I wanted to mention.

dominionThe first is the card game Dominion. I bought this around the time of my anniversary with my boyfriend and we have been playing it a lot, it’s so much fun!

mtgThe second thing is this Movies Trivia Game that we picked up at Book Outlet. We already had the ’80s and ’90s trivia game by the same company so we couldn’t turn this one down. It’s a lot of fun and great for long car rides.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (43)

Leave me a comment!

