Mini-Review: Secret Hero Society: Study Hall of Justice by Derek Fridolfs and Dustin Nguyen

shojTitle: Secret Hero Society: Study Hall of Justice

Author: Derek Fridolfs and Dustin Nguyen

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

2 stars

Being the new kid at school is tough, especially when your school is called Doomvale Academy and your name is Bruce Wayne. There’s a gang of jokers roaming the halls, a muscle-headed kid named Bane wants to beat you up, and your headmaster Hugo Strange seems really, well, strange. (Source: Goodreads)

Bruce Wayne is just starting at a new private school, and he notices, almost immediately, that there is something wrong with with the staff and students at the school. He meets Clark Kent and Diana Prince one day at school and together the trio starts to investigate the weird stuff going on around the school.

While I think the idea for this book was kind of cute, I just wasn’t sold on it at all. I thought the art was adorable, there were some great designs for the characters from Nguyen which I really enjoyed. I just didn’t enjoy the story. I think this is going to turn out to be a series with additional stories, I personally don’t think it’s necessary to continue on beyond this one.

The basic story is that Bruce, Clark, and Diana start looking into the weird stuff happening around the school. This leads to some cute gags and really adorable moments from the trio but doesn’t really amount to much. They get into a fight eventually and then team up again later. All of which I know happened but can’t remember why. The story just wasn’t memorable. I found it all a little predictable, I knew who was the villain from page one, and while I think kids might have a harder time figuring it out it doesn’t really excuse how obvious it was.

The trouble for me with this book is that it kind of points to a problem DC has as a company. They don’t really have a grasp on a lot of demographics from what I can tell. They’re tried branching out with the new DCU comics lines and new directions, and while a lot of that has appealed to 20-something year old, white, female me, I don’t know if they’ve really gotten ahold of other markets. I don’t think a lot of the stuff DC puts out is kid friendly and often when it is, like this book, it just seems cheesy and lame and like strangely bastardized versions of good characters. I hate the lament about time going by and how amazing my childhood was but…Batman: The Animated Series was so perfect and I don’t think there’s something like that now for DC fans that are kids and it just makes me sad.

I think this book is alright, it wasn’t for me but it wasn’t bad either.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Secret Hero Society: Study Hall of JusticeLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

