Stacking the Shelves (42)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 5 books, 11 comics, received 1 book on NetGalley, 5 books from publishers, and borrowed 12 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I purchased 5 books.

 sandman8 sandman9

This month I bought Sandman Vol. 8 and 9 by Neil Gaiman. I’ve read only the 8th one, I’m leaving the 9th until I’ve bought the 10th. I’m still loving this series!

swtfaI bought Star Wars: The Force Awakens by Alan Dean Foster. I’ve started this but couldn’t really get into it, but hopefully I’ll be able to soon because I loved the movie and I’m hoping this’ll be good.

shojI also bought Secret Hero Society: Study Hall of Justice by Derek Fridolfs and Dustin Nguyen. I wasn’t a huge fan of this, my review will be up soon, but it was cute.

A Gathering of Shadows FinalI bought A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab the moment it came into the store. I’m about halfway in and I am loving it already!

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month was pretty comics heavy with 11 comics.

batgirl48This month’s Batgirl #48 by Cameron StewartBrenden Fletcher, and Babs Tarr was alright, not particularly memorable though. I’m getting a little bored of this series unfortunately.

bc8This month’s Black Canary #8 by Brenden Fletcher was fun. I’m sad that the new direction for DC won’t include this series.

loww2The Legend of Wonder Woman #2 by Renae de Liz was really great. I love the art in this series.

jughead4I bought Jughead #4 by Chip Zdarsky and Erica Henderson. This is probably my favourite issue in this series so far.

bombshells9DC Comics Bombshells #9 by Marguerite Bennett, Mirka Andolfo, and Laura Braga this month was not great. I’m still not giving up on this series but it’s starting to look like I might very soon.

hlbb2I bought Harley’s Little Black Book #2 by Amanda ConnerJimmy Palmiotti, John Timms, and Alain Mauricet. I really enjoyed this issue of the series and I’ll be really sad when the series comes to an end.

jonesyI started a new series this month, Jonesy #1 by Sam Humphries and Caitlin Rose Boyle. I thought this was super adorable and I’m looking forward to the rest of the series.

archie6Archie #6 by Mark Waid and Veronica Fish was really good this month. I am really fond of the latest artist on this series.

ihf5I Hate Fairyland #5 by Skottie Young was really great. I can’t wait for this to come back from hiatus.

mgadd4I bought Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #4 by Amy ReederBrandon Montclare, and Natacha Bustos. This was a super adorable continuation of the series.

NETGALLEY

This month I received 1 book from Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley

hinges2I received Hinges Book 2: Paper Tigers by Meredith McClaren. You can read my review here, I was not super fond of it.

PUBLISHER

This month I received 5 books in the mail from publishers.

fadI received Fever at Dawn by Peter Gardos from Anansi International. This book sounds really interesting and I’m looking forward to reading it.

hotbI received Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar from Random House Canada. This sounds like a really intense and interesting read.

jzI received Julius Zebra: Rumble with the Romans by Gary Northfield from Random House Canada. This doesn’t seem like my kind of thing, but it looks cute.

V23 new typeface tagline.inddI received Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum from Random House Canada. This book sounds really interesting.

sqI received Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard by Jonathan Auxier from Random House Canada. I haven’t read the previous book in this series but it seems like a cute series.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 12 books.

 ww2 ww3 ww4 ww5

I borrowed Greg Rucka‘s Wonder Woman run from my boyfriend this month. This included Bitter Rivals Eyes of the GorgonLand of the Dead, and Mission’s EndI really enjoyed this run of Wonder Woman.

 wwo wwo2

I borrowed Wonder Woman: Odyssey Vol. 1 and 2 by J. Michael Straczynski from my boyfriend. I liked the art but not the story in this series.

 twatd twatd2 twatd3

I borrowed The Wicked and the Divine Vol. 12, and 3 by Kieron GillenJamie McKelvieMatt Wilson, and Clayton Cowles from a friend at work. I absolutely loved this series and I can’t wait for more.

tgotI borrowed Thor: The Goddess of Thunder by Jason AaronRussell Dauterman, and Jorge Molina from another friend at work. I didn’t love it but it was interesting.

hawkeye

I borrowed Hawkeye Vol. 2: Little Hits by Matt Fraction and David Aja from the same friend who lent me Thor. I liked it a lot but I don’t think I’m invested enough to keep reading the series.

ddFinally, I borrowed Devil Dinosaur by Jack Kirby from my boyfriend. I actually bought this for him for Christmas and he finally read it and lent it to me, I’m looking forward to reading it.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (42)

Leave me a comment!

