Stacking the Shelves (41)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 6 books, 9 comics, received 1 book as a gift, 1 book on NetGalley, 3 books from publishers, and borrowed 1 book and 32 comics. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I purchased 6 books. Technically only 5, but I found another that I had purchased previously and forgotten to include in the last post.

 sandman5sandman6sandman7

This month I bought Sandman Volumes 56, and 7 by Neil Gaiman. I am quickly gobbling this series up and I’m hoping to find a copy of volume 8 soon so I can keep things moving.

troujlhI bought The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. I’ve been meaning to get this book for a while and finally bought it when it went on sale at work. I didn’t love it but it’s worth checking out, my full review will be up on Monday!

adaeI must have picked Another Day as Emily by Eileen Spinelli up a while back at a library book sale. I don’t really remember but it looks adorable!

ymjI also picked up this really adorable travel book Yubisashi Mini Japan by Henry Drennan. I don’t have any plans to go to Japan right now, but I couldn’t resist how cute it was. I’ve been having a lot of fun teaching my boyfriend to pronounce things from this book.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I bought 9 comics, which isn’t much compared to last month’s 20-something.

pg4I bought Paper Girls #4 by Brian K. Vaughn this month. I am really excited to see this story moving forward!

archie5I got Archie #5 by Mark Waid and Veronica Fish this month. This story is still really cute and I’m enjoying it a lot.

bombshellsI got DC Bombshells #8 by Marguerite Bennett, Laura Braga, Maria Laura Sanapo, and Elizabeth Torque. I am kind of getting bored of this story and I am thinking about dropping this series instead of continuing to buy anymore.

lowwThis month I started a new series The Legend of Wonder Woman #1 by Renae de Liz. This is a really interesting series about the origins of Wonder Woman, I really liked the art and I’m excited for more.

batgirl47I got Batgirl #47 by Cameron StewartBrenden Fletcher, and Babs Tarr. This series is feeling a little like it’s running out of steam and reusing very similar plots, which is hugely disappointing.

hqrtsI picked up Harley Quinn Road Trip Special #1 by Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti on a whim. This was a really fun read and had some cute moments. I love seeing Harley team up with other people.

ihf4This month’s I Hate Fairyland #4 by Skottie Young was really entertaining. I’m looking forward to the next issue. I also got the “Fuck Fairyland” variant this month for the first time.

bc7Black Canary #7 by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu wrapped up the first arc of the series which was really great, if a little rushed.

mgaddI loved this month’s Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #3 by Amy Reeder and Brandon Montclare. I am really enjoying this series and hoping to read the original Devil Dinosaur soon.

GIFT

This month’s one gifted book is actually a Christmas gift I forgot to mention last month.

TFSMy grandparents gave me The Filmmaker Says by Jamie Thompson Stern as a way to add weight to another gift they gave me. I actually really enjoyed reading through this book of quotes.

NETGALLEY

This month I received 1 book on NetGalley.

uvgI received Unicorn vs. Goblins by Dana Simpson from Andrews McMeel. I loved the first 2 Phoebe and her Unicorn books so I’m excited to read this.

PUBLISHER

This month I received 3 books from Penguin Random House Canada.

moversFirst I received Movers by Meaghan McIsaac. I don’t really know anything about this book except that it looks like a dystopia.

tsoophI also received The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock. This book looks really good, and has an amazing cover.

tskFinally I received The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. I don’t know that I have a ton of interest in this book either.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed a lot of comics from my boyfriend.

 ww0 ww2 ww3 ww4 ww5 ww6 wwfb

This month I borrowed the entire Brian Azzarello run of Wonder Woman from my boyfriend. I read the whole thing in about a day, it was a ton of fun to read.

we3I also borrowed We3 by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely. This was such a great read, it was really emotional while also featuring interesting action and character designs.

grayson16Finally I borrowed Grayson #16 by Tim SeeleyTom King, and Mikel Janin. I enjoyed this, though it wasn’t the strongest Grayson issue.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (41)

Leave me a comment!

