ARC Review: A Baby’s Guide to Surviving Dad by Benjamin Bird and Tiago Americo

abgtsdTitle: A Baby’s Guide to Surviving Dad

Author: Benjamin Bird and Tiago Americo

Release Date: February 1

PublisherCapstone Young Readers

Source: Capstone on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Hello, baby. The whole life thing is pretty new to you, right? Luckily, you have a dad. Unluckily, he’s new to the whole being-your-daddy thing. So if you’re going to survive, you need THE BABY’S GUIDE TO SURVIVING DAD. A clever, quirky picture book you can’t live without. (Source: Goodreads)

This short picture book captures some of the struggles of parenthood in humorous ways and with adorable artwork. The book is told as if the baby is having to teach the dad how to take care of them. I think the trouble with this book is that, while it’s adorable and books kid friendly, I’m not really sure that it is. I don’t know who the target is for this book, and I think that is kind of an issue.

The book goes through a number of rules for Dad. I thought these were cute, things like changing diapers and feeding, and the imagery was really excellent. Tiago Americo provides adorable illustrations for these books that I would love to see more of in the future. I thought the whole premise of teaching dad the rules was cute, but that’s where the issue of who is this book for really starts to build.

The book reads like it’s for adults more than for kids. The jokes are definitely aimed at parents. I could see this kind of lingering between kids, parenting, and humour shelves in stores, and that will really make the book suffer. I feel like this is being marketed as being a kids book, but the humour just isn’t on the level for kids. The jokes are parent jokes. Sure the book looks like it’s for kids but it certainly isn’t.

I think it’s an adorable little humour book, but I just felt the lack of clear target demographic is kind of troubling.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read A Baby’s Guide to Surviving DadLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

