Mini-Review: Why Not Me? By Mindy Kaling

wnmTitle: Why Not Me?

Author: Mindy Kaling

Publisher: Crown Archetype

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

In Why Not Me?, Kaling shares her ongoing journey to find contentment and excitement in her adult life, whether it’s falling in love at work, seeking new friendships in lonely places, attempting to be the first person in history to lose weight without any behavior modification whatsoever, or most important, believing that you have a place in Hollywood when you’re constantly reminded that no one looks like you. (Source: Goodreads)

Mindy Kaling’s second book, Why Not Me?, features a series of essays speaking honestly and humorously about her work in Hollywood and her personal life. This was a fantastic follow-up to Kaling’s previous book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? I haven’t watched The Office but I am a big fan of Kaling’s The Mindy Project and I loved her last book.

I was so engaged with this book because it was funny and touching. I thought Kaling told some really funny stories. Mostly, I think this book had a lot of really inspirational stories and commentary throughout from Kaling. There were a lot of really great essays throughout this book, but I was especially fond of the final essay where she addressed the question of “how are you so confident?” I think this essay in particular really highlighted both Kaling’s natural humour but the way in which she is so able to inspire people so much.

Mindy Kaling is probably one of my favourite actors/comedians/celebrities these days, so reading this book was such a treat. I would definitely put this book up there with the likes of Bossypants and Yes, Please. I highly recommend this book!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Why Not Me?Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Mindy Kaling at her website and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

