2015 A Year in Review (Read-olution and Goodreads Challenge Results)

This year was an amazing one for me, with a lot of changes in my life and on the blog. I had to stop doing the Waiting on Wednesday posts at some point during the year simply because I was so busy working and volunteering and dating that I wasn’t leaving myself any time to look forward to any books.  I switched to posted my Stacking the Shelves posts once a month because it was taking up a lot of time and I was shopping for books less and less. These changes were really beneficial for me just in terms of saving time and stress for myself. I’ve reviewed a lot of exciting books this year, and read some others that didn’t get reviews on the blog (especially comics), so I feel like the blog has been filled with content that I feel quite proud of.

Now speaking of reviewing books, you might remember me setting “New Years Read-olutions” at the beginning of this year. I thought I’d take some time to reflect back on those and see how many of the 10 I set I’ve actually managed to accomplish. The first was Rick Riordan‘s Kane Chronicles series. This was one I did not accomplish, in fact I’d completely forgotten I bought this boxed set last year! Next up was Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris. I actually did read this one, you can read the review hereThe Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson was another one I didn’t read and had forgotten I’d bought. The fourth book was North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell which I did not read. I really ran out of steam on my desire to read this, I will eventually though! The fifth book was another series The Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkein. I’ve no idea how I ever thought I’d accomplish reading all of these this year. I didn’t even start one.

So far I’m at 1/5 which looks pretty bad for me.

The sixth book was Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I am part way through this but I didn’t actually touch it all year. I am a Cat by Natsume Soseki was another I didn’t read. Book 8 was one I did read! The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins read the reviews here, here, and here. The last 2 books, Melina Marchetta‘s Looking for Alibrandi and Jesse Burton‘s The Miniaturist, were also not read.

So I accomplished 2/10 goals. Pretty dismal. Check in tomorrow to see which unattainable goals I set for 2016.

Now, my Goodreads challenge went a lot better than my Read-olutions did. I set a goal of 100 books and I accomplished this goal. My official total was 280 but with the individual comics issues on there I think it’s quite a bit lower. I’d guess closer to 200 but definitely well over 100. I honestly didn’t think I’d reach my goal at all so I’m pretty happy that I even hit 100.

Check in tomorrow to see what I set as my goal for 2016!

I’m really pleased with my reading goals this year and I’ve had a really great year all around. I hope you all enjoyed your 2015!

Ramble on,
Kimber


What books did you read in 2015? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Did you meet your goal for the Goodreads 2015 Reading Challenge? Let me know in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

