Mini-Review: The Hanukkah Mice by Steven Kroll and Michelle Shapiro

hmTitle: The Hanukkah Mice

Author: Steven Kroll and Michelle Shapiro

Publisher: Marshall Cavendish Children

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

It’s the first night of Hanukkah, and the mouse family secretly looks on as Mr. Silman lights the first Hanukkah candle. Then they watch Rachel Silman open a gift from her family, a beautiful dollhouse with a wraparound porch and tiny lace curtains. Just the right size for us, whispers Mindy Mouse. While the Silmans are asleep, the mouse family explores the dollhouse. On each night of the holiday, they enjoy the small pieces of furniture and dishes of food that magically appear. (Source: Goodreads)

This cute children’s book is perfect for Hanukkah as it tells the story of a family of mice who get to enjoy their Hanukkah as one little girl shares her gifts with them each night. I enjoyed the story enough, though I think it was a little dull. The illustrations were not my favourite, they were all painted, but they were a little bland without much depth. While it’s not my favourite Hanukkah book ever I do think it was cute enough.

The story is a little dull, it just basically consists of a list of gifts the girl gets each night that the mice react to. I think the writing was a little advanced for young kids as there were a lot of vocabulary words beyond the level of children who would be reading picture books still.

The art was alright. It’s all painted and looked alright, the one issue I had was there was so much empty space when there could have been a lot more done on each page. It was just rather boring to look at. There was a lot of big empty spaces painting one colour without any depth and I would feel quite bad showing this to a kid because there’s not a lot to look at.

There aren’t a lot of options for kids Hanukkah books, or at least I never felt there were growing up. I think this was alright, though there are definitely others I’ve liked a lot better.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read The Hanukkah MiceLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Steven Kroll at his website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

