Stacking the Shelves (39)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 3 books, 11 comics, received 3 books from publishers, 6 books on NetGalley, and borrowed 13 books and 1 comic. Check them out below!

 PURCHASED

This month I purchased 2 books technically, but I’ve included a book I forgot to post last month.

ladI bought Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined by Stephenie Meyer. I have read it by now and the review went up just the other day. This is a gender swap of the original Twilight story.

wnmDuring the Black Friday sales this month I picked up a couple of books at really great prices the first being Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling. I’ve not read it yet but it’s just about next on my list.

martianI also picked up The Martian by Andy Weir for a really good price. I loved the movie adaptation so I’m hoping I also enjoy the book.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I bought 11 comics, including the start of a series I’d been looking all over for.

 batgirl42batgirl43 batgirl44 batgirl45

This month I was finally able to catch up with Batgirl as I picked up issues #42#43#44, and #45. These are all by Brenden FletcherCameron StewartBabs Tarr, and Bengal.

ba3I was also lucky enough to come across a copy of Batgirl Annual #3 by Cameron Stewart, Brenden Fletcher, Bengal, and David Lafuente. This was such a fun read and I’m happy to have just found it by accident while out shopping.

pg2This month Paper Girl #2 by Brian K. VaughanCliff Chiang, and Matt Wilson came out. This series is still really early on and is very mysterious at this point but I’m excited to see what happens.

zsI picked up Zodiac Starforce #1 by Kevin Panetta and Paulina Ganucheau this month as well. I’ve been trying to hunt down this series for months and I just came across it randomly at a store I’d never been in before.

jughead2I got Jughead #2 by Chip Zdarsky and Erica Henderson this month as well. I actually got the Veronica Fish variant cover (not pictured) that was super adorable. I’m still not really sold on this series.

 bombshells4 bombshells5

This month 2 issues of DC Bombshells were released. DC Bombshells #4 by Marguerite Bennett, Bilquis EvelyMirka Andolfo, and Ming Doyle and DC Bombshells #5 by Marguerite BennettLaura BragaMirka Andolfo, and Bilquis Evely. My interest in this series is starting to wane.

archie4Finally, Archie #4 by Mark Waid and Annie Wu came out this month. This was an amazing issue, can’t wait for more!

PUBLISHER

This month I received 3 books all from Random House Canada.

bydncbThis first book was But You Did Not Come Back: A Memoir of the Holocaust by Marceline Loridan-Ivens. This is a fairly short read, and one I really want to get to, but I would need to be in the right mood. You might not be aware of the fact that I studied the Holocaust, specifically Holocaust film, for my thesis at university so this is a topic of a lot of importance to me.

aiwfciyI also received All I Want for Christmas Is You by Mariah Carey and Colleen Madden. My review of this will be up the week of Christmas.

ls

Finally, I received The Little Snowplow by Lora Koehler and Jake Parker. My review will be up the week of Christmas.

NETGALLEY

This month I received 6 books on NetGalley.

atgThe first book I received was Andre the Giant: Closer to Heaven by Brandon Easton and Denis Medri from Lion Forge. You can read my review here.

foftI received Far Out Fairy Tales by Joey Comeau, Louise Simonson, Sean Tulien, Otis Frampton, Omar LozanoJimena Sanchez S, and Fernando Cano from Capstone. I haven’t read this yet but it looks like a lot of fun.

onI received Oddly Normal Vol. 2 by Otis Frampton from Diamond Book Distributors. My review of this just went up.

bbmrI received Bob’s Burgers: Medium Rare by Loren Bouchard, Adam Beechen, Ben Dickerson, Jeff Drake, Brian Hall, Rachel Hastings, Justin Hook, John McNamee, Mike Olsen, Mark Von Der Heide, Anneliese Waddington, Chad Brewster, and Frank Forte from Dynamite. My review of this will be up next week!

abgtsdI received A Baby’s Guide to Surviving Dad by Benjamin Bird from Capstone. This book looks really adorable and I can’t wait to read it. It’s also from a series so I might check out the other book too!

swwlFinally, I received Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate from ABRAMS Kids. This sounds like an unusual concept so I’m interested in seeing how it turns out.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 13 books and 1 comic from my boyfriend. You’ll notice a bit of a theme.

 wwtc wweote wwroto www wwc

I borrowed Wonder Woman: The CircleEnds of the EarthRise of the OlympiansWarkiller, and Contagion by Gail Simone, Terry Dodson, Bernard Chang, Rachel Dodson, Ron Randall, Aaron Lopresti, Matt Ryan, Nicola Scott, Fernando Dagnino, and Doug Hazlewood. I have read the whole run now and it was excellent!

 pganb pgaaa

I borrowed Power Girl: A New Beginning and Aliens and Apes by Justin GrayJimmy Palmiotti, and Amanda Conner. I loved this series and it was my first encounter with Power Girl.

wwgI borrowed Wonder Woman Vol. 1: Blood by Brian AzzarelloCliff Chiang, and Tony Akins. I’m looking forward to reading this series.

wwgamI borrowed Wonder Woman: Gods and Mortals by George PerezLen WeinGreg Potter, and Bruce Patterson. I probably won’t get to this until next year but I’m looking forward to it.

wwhI borrowed Wonder Woman: The Hikiteia by Greg Rucka J.G. Jones, Wade Von Grawbadger, and Dave Stewart. I don’t know much about this but I know the cover is pretty iconic.

wwdteI borrowed Wonder Woman: Down to Earth by Greg Rucka, Drew Johnson, Ray Snyder, Steve Rude, Stuart Immonen, Eduardo RissoEric Shanower, and Brian Stelfreeze. I’ve obviously been on a bit of a Wonder Woman kick.

 jk3 jk4

I borrowed Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Omnibus Volume 3 and 4. I’ve read the first but not the second yet. Finally wrapping this series up!!

grayson14I also borrowed one comic from him this month. Grayson #14 by Tim Seeley and Stephen Mooney.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

