ARC Review: Archie vs. Predator by Alex de Campi and Fernando Ruiz

avpTitle: Archie vs. Predator

Author: Alex de Campi and Fernando Ruiz

Release Date: November 17

Publisher: Dark Horse

Source: Dark Horse on Edelweiss (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

America’s favorite teen meets the galaxy’s fiercest hunter! When Archie and friends hit Costa Rica for Spring Break, party games and beach games are soon replaced by the Most Dangerous Game! Lured by the challenge of Betty and Veronica’s unparalleled fierceness, a teenaged Predator from the stars follows the gang back to Riverdale, where it prepares for its most bizarre hunt ever, but will the kids even realize they’re in danger before they end up in the creature’s horrifying trophy case?! (Source: Goodreads)

Archie Andrews and his pals head out on a vacation that will change the Archie-verse forever! While on vacation the gang encounters the big game hunter, Predator, who begins to pick the gang off one by one. When it follows them back to Riverdale the gang must try to protect themselves and the town from becoming trophy’s for the young Predator.

I had talked this book up in my head so much and I was so excited for it, I’d been waiting months to read it. I was a little let down, but not completely disappointed. I had a few issues with the storytelling because it was a little jumpy. Other than that though, the art was excellent, the humor was on point, and the actual story fit into the world of Archie with surprising ease.

The gang encounters the Predator early on and the whole book focuses on their continued efforts to defeat the creature. I think the pace was a little fast, and while that was largely not an issue, it did lead to some choppy storytelling without enough transitioning from page to page, panel to panel, or issue to issue. I think the story took some interesting turns, I don’t want to spoil too much, but it was a very Archie conclusion.

I think de Campi really captured the humor of Archie well throughout this. I thought the charm of the original characters and their relationships really came across mixed in with this more modern sense of teen relations and of course the horror and action of Predator movies. There were some fun and interesting references to the movies, which really made me laugh as I’d just watched Predator before reading the book. Reggie’s “sexual tyrannosaurus” comment was the funniest bit in the whole book, just as it was in the movie.

There were some mini comics at the end that I had no interest in but read and thought were kind of cute, especially the Sabrina one. Overall there was lots of interesting art throughout the book which was all really well done and worked so well in the stories told by de Campi.

I would say this is definitely worth a read but it far from the best Archie adaptation I’ve read.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Archie vs. PredatorLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Alex de Campi at her website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

