ARC Review: The Complete Love Hurts by Kim Anderrson

lhTitle: The Complete Love Hurts

Author: Kim Anderrson

Release Date: November 10

Publisher: Dark Horse Books

Source: Dark Horse on Edelweiss (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

In this massive tomb of romance comics with brutal, terrible twists, Swedish comics creator Kim W. Andersson–making his U.S. debut–delivers a shocking series of short stories about love gone horribly wrong! Featuring lovelorn supervillains, psychopathic online daters, murderous reality TV show stars, and heartbroken cowboys, samurais, and astronauts, Love Hurts showcases that no matter who you are or what you do, love can be one deadly bitch! (Source: Goodreads)

Love Hurts is a series of short comics about the ways in which love hurts. The stories often focus on lovers becoming violent with each other or dying to protect their love (more often things end in murder though). The stories are grim and funny with gritty art.

I’m sort of on the fence with Love Hurts. I think the stories were funny and often had some interesting ideas, though there were a lot of repeated gags and horror moments throughout the series as a whole. I found the art to not be my favourite, though I think it often fit the tone of the stories. I guess my problem was that it wasn’t really my thing even though I think it was quite good. I guess I was hoping for something more like the cover art? A kind of sci-fi romance, drama, horror combo instead of just this mix of shorts that were sometimes good, sometimes dull.

A lot of the stories were sort of “scorned lover” situations wherein one member gets revenge on the other – often by murdering them in some gruesome way. I actually quite enjoyed that and found the revenge aspect was quite satisfying, even in such short stories. I do think it would have been cool to see it done over the longer span of one story instead of throughout a whole bunch of short ones. I would also have been cool to see some of the characters show up again later, since some end with promises of revenge which would have been interesting to seen acted out.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the art, it is really not my style, or to my taste, but I did think it suited most of the stories. There is something less clean and perfect about the art which fits the grim and gritty stories of this book. I did sometimes think it seemed out of place, but largely thought it was suitable for the book.

I think I would recommend this book, even though it wasn’t really for me, because I think the concept was done well with suitable art and it really worked overall.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read The Complete Love HurtsLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

