Stacking the Shelves (38)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 3 books, 6 comics, received 1 book on Edelweiss, 1 book on NetGalley, and borrowed 1 book and 13 comics. Check them out below!

 PURCHASED

This month I bought myself 3 books, completely on a whim.

losFirst, I bought The Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs. I have been a fan of this series since I started reading it. I’m hoping this one won’t have the same mistakes I felt the previous one did.

saga5I also bought Saga Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples finally. I really enjoyed it, you can read my full review here. This continues to be one of my favourite comic book series.

sandman 2Finally, I bought Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll’s House by Neil GaimanMike Dringenberg, Malcolm Jones III, Chris Bachalo, Michael Zulli, and Steve Parkhouse. I adore this series and I’m itching to get my hands on the next volume.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I bought 6 comics, but I started 2 new series.

jugheadFirst I bought Jughead #1 by Chip Zdarsky and Erica Henderson. Everyone has been really anticipating this series and for me it was kind of a letdown. I don’t enjoy Henderson’s art and I thought the story was slow and lacking. I hope they get more into their groove over the next few months though.

pgI bought Paper Girls #1 by Brian K. VaughanCliff Chiang, and Matt Wilson this month as well. This one was such a strong start and I look forward to more in the future.

dcb3I bought DC Bombshells #3 by Marguerite BennettGarry BrownMarguerite SauvageAnt Lucia, and Laura Braga. This was definitely an improvement over last month’s disappointing issue.

bc5I bought Black Canary #5 by Brenden Fletcher and Pia Guerra. I actually got the adorable monster month cover with zombie-Dinah on it, which was great even though Annie Wu’s cover for this was incredible too. I found the content this month great by the art just awful, I am not a fan of Pia Guerra.

batgirl41I finally got my hands on Batgirl #41 by Cameron StewartBrenden Fletcher, and Babs Tarr. This was an excellent issue and I’m excited that I have finally gotten to continue on with the series.

prez5Finally, I bought Prez #5 by Mark Russell and Ben Caldwell. There’s only 1 issue left after this before the series goes on hiatus!! 😦

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 1 comic that I bought for someone and also an entire comic series from my boyfriend.

fairest5First I borrowed Fairest Vol. 5: The Clamour for Glamour by Mark Buckingham and Bill Willingham. You can read my review of this final Fairest story here.

 movement1 movement2 movement3 movement4  movement5movement6movement7movement8 movement9movement10movement11movement12

I also borrowed The Movement #1#2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, and #12 by Gail Simone and Freddie E. Williams II. This was a really fantastic series that I kind of wish was still running, or at least had a longer run.

grayson13Finally, I borrowed Grayson #13 by Tim Seeley and Tom King. I really enjoyed this issue, and the copy was the Monster themed cover which was absolutely stunning!

NETGALLEY

I only received 1 book on NetGalley this month.

ccI received Crystal Cadets by Anne TooleKatie O’Neill, and Paulina Ganucheau from Lion Forge. I am really looking forward to reading this.

EDELWEISS

This month I received 1 book on Edelweiss from Dark Horse comics.

avpI received Archie Vs. Predator by Alex de Campi and Fernando Ruiz. I have been wanting to read this for ages so I am really looking forward to this.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

