ARC Review: Tabatha by Neil Gibson

tabathaTitle: Tabatha

Author: Neil Gibson

Release Date: November 3

Publisher: T Pub

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

1 star

Luke works as a mailman in Los Angeles and moonlights as a thief – the empty houses on his postal route are rich, easy pickings for him and his friends. Everything goes to plan until one house turns out to not quite be so empty. The situation spirals out of control, leaving the happy go lucky thieves battling for their lives. And all because of Tabatha. (Source: Goodreads)

Luke is a mailman in LA. He and his friends start robbing houses so they can pay for this brother’s girlfriend’s mother’s lifesaving surgery. What they find in the last house changes everything. The break into a murders house and quickly find themselves becoming his next victims. Can they save themselves before it’s too late? Or will they fall victim to the madman too?

I really, really, really did not like this book at all. This is sort of a horror story, which I’m not a big fan of but could have dealt with, but it was kind of a messy horror story that I didn’t buy into and didn’t care about. The story could have been interested and had a lot of potential, but it was basically just a cheap thriller that I didn’t want to read. The art style on top of that was not my favourite and looked cheap.

The book follows four friends who wind up being kidnapped by a murderer who wants to transfer his sex doll’s personality into the one girl’s body. This was interesting but not well written in my opinion. The plot relied on a lot of cliched and typical lines and jokes that just made me roll my eyes and sigh. I think the characters didn’t really connect and any emotion you were meant to feel for them was pretty forced and unnatural. There was one kind of okay joke about Evil Dead that I liked but otherwise I didn’t care.

The art, to me, looked like the kind of cheapy art you see in a lot of iPad games and online hentai games. I was majorly unimpressed with it which sucked. I thought the art on the cover looked interesting but the stuff inside is nothing like that and will really disappoint.

Overall this was not a good story or good art. Hugely let down by the whole thing.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read TabathaLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Neil Gibson at his website, Goodreads, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

