Review: Saga Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

saga5Title: Saga Vol. 5

Author: Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Publisher: Image Comics

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Multiple storylines collide in this cosmos-spanning new volume. While Gwendolyn and Lying Cat risk everything to find a cure for The Will, Marko makes an uneasy alliance with Prince Robot IV to find their missing children, who are trapped on a strange world with terrifying new enemies. (Source: Goodreads)

Alana, Hazel, and Marko’s mother are trapped with the man who murdered Prince Robot’s wife and stole his baby. Meanwhile, Marko and the Prince are trying to find them. At the same time, Gwendolyn, Sophie, Lying Cat, and The Brand search for a cure for The Will. The storylines collide and intersect throughout the book, but will the families ever reunite?

I really liked this volume of Saga, I thought it was a vast improvement over the previous volume. I was glad to see the characters’ storylines getting back on track and the charm of the series (the amazing family relationships) returning. The art was, as always excellent.

The plot was more interesting this time. I was glad to see things moving back towards a more family based story. And not just with Alana and Marko. Gwendolyn and Sophie’s plot was also very family focused. There was honestly no plot in this entire volume that I didn’t like. There were some touching moments and some good laughs, with some great visual gags. I thought the writing was a step up from the previous volume so I am really pleased.

The art was amazing in this volume. Since I’ve been reading the rebooted Archie recently I’ve been reminded a lot of how amazing Fiona Staples is. This volume just reinforced that as well. There’s one page that’s just a dragon giving itself a blowjob (gross I know) but holy hell the detail. I couldn’t help but be impressed.

I highly recommend this volume in particular but the series in general. Things really turned around and were super excellent in this one! Cannot wait for more.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Saga Volume 5Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Fiona Staples at her blog and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “Review: Saga Vol. 5 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Leave me a comment!

