Mini-ARC Review: Snoopy: Contact! by Charles M. Schulz

scTitle: Snoopy: Contact!

Author: Charles M. Schulz

Release Date: October 20

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Source: Andrews McMeel Publishing on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Snoopy is one small dog with one huge imagination! From day to day, he can be found stalking the other Peanuts characters as a fierce ready-to-prey vulture, leopard, mountain lion, piranha, or creature from the sea. But his grandest flights of fancy are when he’s airborne as the Flying Ace on his Sopwith Camel seeking out the evil Red Baron. His forays take him through the World War I French countryside in repeated attempts to achieve his quest. In Snoopy: Contact!, enjoy his adventures along with his other unusual encounters: catching bird burglars stealing his Van Gogh, challenging Lucy to an arm-wrestling contest, and becoming the Cheshire beagle. (Source: Goodreads)

This is a collection of Peanuts comic strips featuring Snoopy. Primarily they are about his adventures as a WWI pilot. There are a few other plotlines but they are mostly the WWI pilot things. I previously read on of these collections, and I liked it but was not blown away by the idea. I find these a little repetitive and boring to read.

I love Peanuts comics and I do think the idea of these books is quite cute and fun, collecting similarly themed strips from throughout the comic’s history. My issue with these books as they tend to be quite dull. We lose out on the storylines as they come in and out quite randomly. They’re also very repetitive. These books are difficult to read in one go, they’re more of a bathroom book to flip through randomly.

I found this a little bit of a chore to get through, I tried to go at it all at once, but wound up reading it bit by bit. Even then it feels more like you have to have nothing else of interest to do to even bother reading this. I didn’t hate it, I just found it quite dull. I think it’s great that these books are coming out and are essentially targeting younger readers to introduce them to the Peanuts strips, but I just find them kind of dull.

Worth a read if you’re a Peanuts fan or want something to read in the bathroom. Definitely a good read for kids to flip through at the library or something as well.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Snoopy: Contact!Let me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

