Review: A Night Divided by Jennifer A. Nielsen

andTitle: A Night Divided

Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen

Publisher: Scholastic

Source: Birthday gift

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

With the rise of the Berlin Wall, twelve-year-old Gerta finds her family divided overnight. She, her mother, and her brother Fritz live on the eastern side, controlled by the Soviets. Her father and middle brother, who had gone west in search of work, cannot return home. Gerta knows it is dangerous to watch the wall, to think forbidden thoughts of freedom, yet she can’t help herself. She sees the East German soldiers with their guns trained on their own citizens; she, her family, her neighbors and friends are prisoners in their own city.

But one day, while on her way to school, Gerta spots her father on a viewing platform on the western side, pantomiming a peculiar dance. Then, when she receives a mysterious drawing, Gerta puts two and two together and concludes that her father wants Gerta and Fritz to tunnel beneath the wall, out of East Berlin. However, if they are caught, the consequences will be deadly. No one can be trusted. Will Gerta and her family find their way to freedom? (Source: Goodreads)

Gerta’s family has been separated by the existence of the Berlin Wall, it keeps her from reaching her father and brother have escaped to West Berlin while her mother, oldest brother, Fritz, and Gerta herself are trapped in East Berlin by an oppressive regime. Gerta comes up with a plan to get her family back together by escaping into the West, but can the family accomplish the task without being found out by the Stasi?

I absolutely loved this book, I thought the story was interesting and moving. I thought the characters were well written and the family bond was so beautifully well represented throughout the book. I think the pacing was extraordinary, action was always going on and you were really wrapped up in what was going on with the family. My one real complaint about this book is a small one – things just worked out too perfectly and it seemed so unbelievable.

Gerta is such a strong lead and she really has a lot of spirit that just infects you as you read the book. I found her passion inspiring and her heart stronger than I could ever imagine myself being. I adored her brother Fritz who was such a fighter to the very end of the book, working so hard to help and protect his sister. Their mother was hard to like at first but you had to admire her dedication to the family and to protecting her children.

I really liked that Nielsen tried so hard to make her book historically accurate. I think I had some trouble believing everything just considering how perfectly everything worked out, but it’s forgivable because it’s work of fiction.

Overall I really loved this book. I was so happy to receive it as a gift on my birthday and I’m even more pleased now that I’m done reading it. I highly recommend this to everyone!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read A Night DividedLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Jennifer A. Nielsen at her website, Goodreads, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

