Stacking the Shelves (36)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 11 comics, 4 books, received 6 books from publishers, 1 book on Edelweiss, 3 books on NetGalley, and borrowed 26 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I actually bought some books! Only 4, but that’s still some! I also sped through 3/4 of these books which was pretty great!

lumberjanesFirst up I bought Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy by Noelle StevensonGrace Ellis, and Brooke A. Allen. You can read my review of this adorable comic here.

jackabyThen I bought Jackaby by William Ritter. My review of this super charming book will be up in a few weeks in anticipation of the release of the sequel.

Ritter_BeastlyBones_jkt_COMP.inddSpeaking of that sequel I should add that I received a copy of Beastly Bones several months ago from Algonquin Books on NetGalley and totally forgot to mention it! The review of this will be up in a few weeks time!

mapAs will a review of The Map: A Jackaby Story which is a little novella between the two books!

lrI also purchased Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern. I actually received a copy of this to review on NetGalley but it was archived before I got a chance to download it, I’ll be reading this soon-ish.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month was another comic book heavy month, as I expect all months will be for the time being.

dcbFirst I bought DC Comics Bombshells #1 by Marguerite Bennett and Marguerite Sauvage. This is a new series based on the Bombshells statuette line and it’s really interesting so far.

sg3I finally found Spider-Gwen #3 by Jason Latour and Robbi Rodriquez. I’m not super keen on this series but it’s only 5 issues so I’m trying to finish it.

ygsI also picked up the Young Gotham Sampler which features the first issue of GraysonGotham Academyand the latest run of Batgirl. These are by Tim SeeleyBecky Cloonan and Brenden Fletcher, and Cameron StewartBrenden Fletcher, and Babs Tarr respectively. This was a great intro that has led to me going on to read these series.

taI bought the Thor Annual #1 by Noelle Stevenson, CM Punk, Jason Aaron, Marguerite Sauvage, and Rob Guillory. I basically just bought this for the art by Sauvage, but it was super cute.

archie1So, I didn’t know they rebooted Archie but when I found out I bought the first issue, by Mark Waid and Fiona Staples, and it’s super adorable!

archie2I, of course, had to buy Archie #2 then, which was also adorable.

bc3I picked up the third issue of Black Canary by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu. This continues to be one of my favourite series because of the awesome art by Wu.

ga2As I mentioned I decided to continue Gotham Academy so I picked up the second issue. It’s a really interesting and cute series.

prez3I, of course, continued on with Prez #3 by Mark Russell and Ben Caldwell this month too.

batgirl36I also bought Batgirl #36

batgirl37And #37.

PUBLISHER

This month I received 6 books from publishers through work, I’ve finished reading only 1 of them, and in all likelihood I might never read a couple of them because they’re sequels.

udmI received a copy of Upside-Down Magic by Sarah MlynowskiLauren Myracle, and Emily Jenkins from Scholastic. My review of this adorable MG book will be up in a few weeks.

illuminaeI received a copy of Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff from Random House Canada. I’m not particularly interested in this one, but I do think the format seems interesting.

eofapI received The Emperor of Any Place by Tim Wynne-Jones from Random House Canada.

tfI received Timmy Failure: Sanitized for Your Protection by Stephan Pastis from Random House Canada. I’m not interesting in this at all, so I’ll probably be passing it on to someone else.

akI received Autumn’s Kiss by Bella Thorne from Random House Canada. I haven’t read the previous book in this series but I might try and pick it up at some point.

martiansFinally, from Random House Canada I received MARTians by Blythe Woolston. This book sounds pretty interesting and I’m looking forward to reading it.

EDELWEISS

This month I received 1 book on Edelweiss, which was also the only book I requested all month.

lhI received The Complete Love Hurts by Kim Anderrson from Dark Horse. This looks like a pretty interesting comic book collection.

NETGALLEY

This month I received 3 books on NetGalley.

tabathaFirst I received Tabatha by Neil Gibson from Diamond Book Distributors. I’ve already finished this, the review will be up in late October.

PrintI received The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone from Redhook Books. This seems like it could be an interesting read and I’ll be checking it out soon!

wbwFinally I received Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin from Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. I loved Graudin’s The Walled City so I’m really looking forward to reading this.

BORROWED

This month I borrowed a lot of books and comics, mostly comics.

fables22I borrowed Fables Vol. 22: Farewell by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham from my brother this month. My review is up here.

sc2I also borrowed Sex Criminals Vol. 2: Two Worlds, One Cop by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky from my brother. Review is up here.

loegI borrowed The League of Extraordinary Vol. 1 by Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill from my brother too. I loved it so I also borrowed…

loeg2The League of Extraordinary Gentlement Vol. 2

bdand The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Black Dossier.

planetary3I borrowed Planetary Vol. 3: Leaving the 20th Century by Warren Ellis and John Cassaday from my boyfriend along with…

planetary4Planetary Vol. 4: Spacetime Archaeology

pcwand Planetary: Crossing Worlds.

gf2Then I finished up another series with Global Frequency Vol. 2: Detonation Radio by Warren Ellis, which I borrowed from my boyfriend.

sbrI borrowed a third Warren Ellis book, Supreme: Blue Rose with art by Tula Lotay, from my boyfriend. This was so beautiful and definitely worth a read.

 scww3wwsc8

I also borrowed Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman #3 and #8 (there’s a third part) featuring Ollie Masters, Amy Mebberson, Sean E. Williams, Marguerite Sauvage, James Tynion IV, Noelle Stevenson, Heather Nuhfer, and Ryan Benjamin. These were cute but not really my favourite.

  grayson2grayson3grayson4grayson5 grayson6grayson7grayson8grayson9grayson10grayson11graysona1graysonfe

I also borrowed Grayson #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, Annual #1and Futures End by Tim SeeleyTim KingStephen Mooney, and Mikel Janin

starman2I also borrowed Starman Omnibus Vol. 2 by James Robinson and Tony Harris because I really enjoyed the first volume.

jk2And finally, I borrowed Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 2 even though I haven’t finished reading the first volume yet!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (36)

  1. WOWSERS. Lots of books. I got Illuminae at BEA and thought that it was huge. Not to mention all the comic books/graphic novels look really cool. I hope you love all your new books.

    Grace @ Books of Love

    Like

Leave me a comment!

