ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

eeTitle: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Release Date: September 1

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Source: Random House Canada (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. (Source: Goodreads)

Maddy has SCID, Severe Combined Immunodeficiency, that means she’s a “bubble girl”. She can’t leave her house or make contact with people other than her nurse and her mother. She’s never really wanted to either. Until Olly comes into her life. She never would have guessed that Olly’s arrival would completely change the course of her life, and that for once she wants to experience everything no matter what the cost.

I’ve been having a bit of a dry spell with teen books recently. It’s been awhile since I read one that really had me gushing and crying and swooning and squinching. When I received Everything, Everything in the mail I didn’t think much of it, my friend wanted to read it but I just thought “oh the cover’s cute” and put it away with the rest of my mail. Oh the cover’s cute. What was I thinking. This book is everything. It is adorable, moving, thrilling, tear inducing, heart racing, beautiful, sweet, everything. I don’t think I’ll be able to name a single fault.

This story is charming and unusual. I don’t know a lot about SCID aside from having seen the Bubble Boy movie, so I wasn’t super familiar with the disease, which just made Maddy all the more intriguing. The story follows Maddy as she encounters the world that’s been kept from her because of her disease. I loved that while the romance was in the foreground and really pushed her to move out into the world, Maddy was really coming into herself more than just following Olly’s lead. The pacing of this book is absolutely fantastic, there is never a dull moment. i could not put this book down, to the point that I think I was actually annoying my boyfriend because I 1. made stay up late reading, 2. wait to start a movie so I could finish reading a chapter, and 3. ignored him through an entire meal while reading. I’m sorry but this book was too good. The pacing keeps you in the story the entire time and keeps you hanging on to hear what happens to Maddy next.

The characters are well written and feel real. Maddy was so easy to connect with and to fall in love with. She is so well developed and interesting to read about. Her disease is the initial draw, but she also has these fascinating interests and relationships with her nurse, Olly, and mother. Carla, her nurse, is one of the strongest characters in the book who you instantly fall in love with. Olly is a total swoonworthy hotty, but he’s also sweet and caring and really helps to bring Maddy into the world and lets her take charge. He delivers one of the most romantic lines I’ve read in a while. Read the book and you will instantly know what I’m talking about.

The format of this book is sort of interesting as it features art and a few mixed media pieces. There are diary entries, medical charts, drawings, diagrams, etc. which were really cute and fit right into the story. It’s so interesting to have this mixed media, and I was especially pleased that this book was a family effort. Yoon’s husband did the art! That’s so cute!!!

Anyway, this book is amazing, please read it!!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Everything, EverythingLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Nicola Yoon at her Goodreadswebsite, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

