ARC Review: Manga Classics: Emma by Jane Austen, Stacy King, Crystal Chan, and Po Tse

emmaTitle: Manga Classics: Emma

Author:  Jane Austen, Stacy King, Crystal Chan, and Po Tse

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Source: Udon Entertainment on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Just in time for the 200th Anniversary, Manga Classics: Emma brings Jane Austen’s classic tale of youthful folly and romantic exuberance to a modern audience with this beautiful, new manga adaptation. The impulsive match-making of Emma Woodhouse delivers both humor and heartache through the gorgeous artwork of manga-ka Po Tse (Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice). (Source: Goodreads)

Another Manga Classic! I’m only sort of familiar with Austen’s Emma having seen a few adaptations of it for the screen. I have to say though, this book made me want to read Emma ASAP. There was something so charming and sweet captured in Po Tse’s art. On top of that the story seemed perfectly adapted and it seemed to work really well in this format. This is probably one of my favourites in the Manga Classics series!

Emma is a charming tale about a girl who loves to matchmake. I think this adaptation brings that charm across really well. There’s something so smooth and sweet about the storytelling and pacing as adapted in this manga that I fell in love with it. I think the pacing was perfect in this adaptation, where in others there was a feeling of rush Emma felt perfectly timed and executed.

Pair that with fantastic art and you’ve got a hit. This book has gorgeous detailed art that really fits the tone and style of the time and the story. These are some of the best character designs of seen in any of the Manga Classics books, each one is unique and really captures the character well. I also thought the backgrounds and props looked amazing. This gets top marks on art from me!

I highly recommend what is probably the best Manga Classic out there!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Manga Classics:EmmaLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Stacy King at her Goodreads and Twitter.
Check out Crystal Chan at her Goodreads and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

