Stacking the Shelves (35)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 4 comics, gifted 2 books, received 5 books from publishers, 1 book from an author directly, 3 books on NetGalley, and borrowed 8 books. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month was not a big book buying month for me again. In fact it was a slow reading month for me (dating takes a lot of time!!). This month I really only spent money on comics.

bcFirst up, Black Canary #2 by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu. This is kind of exciting for me because I’ve never read comics as each individual issue came out before, but now I’ve got a series I’m following that I absolutely adore! This series is so perfectly my style that I can’t help but love it, definitely worth checking out!

prez1Then I started another series, with Prez #1 by Mark Russell and Ben Caldwell. While the first issue wasn’t super great I felt there was a lot of potential so…

prez2I also bought Prez #2. This one definitely showed even more promise and I’m excited to follow the series in the future.

gokMy final purchase for this month was Guardians of Knowhere #1 by Brian Bendis and Mike Deodato. I actually got this super adorable variant cover. I didn’t really like this and won’t be following it, but it’s so cute looking!

GIFTED

Last month I totally forgot to include a gifted section, which is funny because it was my boyfriend’s birthday and I gifted a ton of books! This month I bought 1 thing for my brother and 1 thing, very sleepily by mistake, for my boyfriend.

fables22For my brother I picked up Fables Vol. 22: Farewell by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham. This is the last issue of Fables in the entire series so it’s a bit of a sad time for the two of us as this series has helped us bond over the years. I won’t be reading this for a while yet so you’ll see it featured again in a borrowed section some day!

miraclemanI also bought Miracleman Vol. 3: Olympus by Alan Moore and John Totleben for my boyfriend this month. This is a comic with a really interesting history which you should definitely read about because it’s such an interesting legal battle for the rights to this character.

PUBLISHER

This month I received 5 books from publishers through my work book club! There was a pretty big range of topics and types of books so I was pretty excited about that.

eeFirst I received Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon from Random House Canada. This book is so adorable and I can’t wait to share my review with you all later this month. This is one to watch out for!

gcThen I received The Golden Compass: The Graphic Novel: Volume 1 by Philip PullmanStephane Melchior-Durand, and Clement Oubrerie from Random House Canada. You’ll see a review of this when it comes out later this year! I’ve already read it and it wasn’t my favourite but fans of the original book will like it.

hgI also received The Hired Girl by Laura Amy Schlitz from Random House Canada. I’m looking forward to this one, it has a gorgeous cover!

sfadcThen I received Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad by M. T. Anderson from Random House Canada. I wasn’t sure what to make of this because I primarily receive teen and MG books, but it certainly looks interesting.

mhFinally, I received Mycroft Holmes by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Anna Waterhouse from Titan Books. I’m not sure what to make of this one either, but I think it seems kind of interesting.

AUTHOR

I received a request from an author this month asking me to check out her book, I certainly will when I get time to fit it into my schedule. I really appreciate her reaching out to me!

sonEmily O’Beirne sent me a copy of her new book A Story of Now this month. I’m looking forward to checking this out!

NETGALLEY

I didn’t request much this month on NetGalley, I think these might have been the only things I did request actually.

siksI received Shibainuko-san 1 by Uzu from Takeshobo. This looks like it could be super adorable.

srI also received The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow from Simon and Schuster Children’s Publishing. This sounds really amazing and I’m looking forward to it!

scFinally, I received Snoopy: Contact! by Charles M. Schulz from Andres McMeel Publishing. I love Peanuts and have already reviewed one of these collections before. I’m looking forward to this one too!

BORROWED

This month I borrowed 7 books from my boyfriend and 1 from my brother.

plnetaryThe first thing my boyfriend lent me was Planetary Vol. 1: All Over the World and Other Stories by Warren Ellis and John Cassaday. I absolutely loved this first trade of Planetary because it was unusual and I really enjoy Ellis’s style and the way he writes each issue as an individual story. So, my boyfriend then lent me…

plnetary2Planetary Vol. 2: The Fourth Man. Next month you should expect to see Volumes 3 and 4 in my borrowed section.

gfHe’s trying to get me interested in Warren Ellis’s work so he also lent me Global Frequency Vol. 1: Planet Ablaze. While I didn’t enjoy this as much as Planetary I am interested in reading more so you’ll probably see Volume 2 in next month’s StS.

suHe’s much more a fan of the traditional superhero comic than I am, but every once in a while he does recommend something that I’m willing to try. This month he lent me Superman Unchained by Scott Snyder. Snyder actually wrote one of my favourite Batman stories so I am really excited to read this.

starmanNext he lent me The Starman Omnibus Vol. 1 by James Robinson and Tony Harris. I’ve been offered very little information about this series other than the fact that he really likes this series. I haven’t started it yet but I do think it looks pretty interesting.

jkThe last of the comic books that he lent me was Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Omnibus Vol. 1 by Jack Kirby. This is a collection of Kirby’s series from the ’70s. I will eventually get to this but this month he really gave me a lot of huge books to read and I’ve only just finished the stuff he lent me last month!

apThe final book my boyfriend lent to me was American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis. This is the one he lent me first but I’ve put it on hold to get through some of the comic books. I haven’t gotten to much of the well known content yet (the murdering) but it’s a really interesting read so far.

fablesMy brother lent me Fables Vol. 21: Happily Ever After by Bill Willingham and Mark Buckingham. You may remember we giving this book to him which I mentioned in a previous StS. Well now he’s finally lent it to me to read. It was honestly a bit of a let down, but what can you do?

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (35)

Leave me a comment!

