ARC Review: Manga Classics: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, Stacy King, Crystal Chan, and Nokman Poon

geTitle: Manga Classics: Great Expectations

Author: Charles Dickens, Stacy King, Crystal Chan, and Nokman Poon

Publisher: Udon Entertainment

Source: Udon Entertainment on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Great Expectations has it all: romance, mystery, comedy, and unforgettable characters woven through a gripping rags-to-riches tale. Naive Pip, creepy Miss Haversham, beautifully cold Estella, terrifying Abel Magwitch, and the rest of Dicken’s fantastic cast are perfectly envisioned in this new adaptation in this 300-plus page volume featuring artwork by artist Nokman Poon. Manga Classics editions feature classic stories, faithfully adapted and illustrated in manga style, and available in both hardcover and softcover editions. Proudly presented by UDON Entertainment and Morpheus Publishing. (Source: Goodreads)

I haven’t read Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, though I have watched the BBC miniseries from 2011. That particular adaptation was highly praised so I feel like it’s a fairly good point of comparison for this adaptation. This book featured, as always from the Manga Classics series, fantastic art. I thought the adaptation was well done, with fairly good character designs, and good pacing. It was far from my favourite in the series of adaptations but I still think it’s worth a look for fans of the book.

I thought the story came across well in this adaptation. I followed everything clearly and the tone of the story was fairly clear. I do think there was an element of melodrama that made it a little harder to connect to Pip than it had been in the previous adaptations I had encountered. I think the story was clearly and concise, which is necessary in the graphic format. I did feel like some of the charm and intrigue was missing, as it had been for me in the Les Miserables adaptation too.

The art was, as always, pretty great. I think the designs matched up for the most part. I think Miss Havisham had the most memorable design, and one that really conveyed her character well. I think Pip was a little bland, as were most other character designs, but the art was still gorgeous.

I don’t think this is a stand out in the collection of manga adaptations coming out of Udon Entertainment. It certainly wasn’t particularly memorable in my opinion.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Manga Classics: Great ExpectationsLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Stacy King at her Goodreads and Twitter.
Check out Crystal Chan at her Goodreads and website.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “ARC Review: Manga Classics: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, Stacy King, Crystal Chan, and Nokman Poon

Leave me a comment!

