Stacking the Shelves (34)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 4 books, 3 comics, received 3 books on NetGalley, and 5 books from publishers. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I was trying to save money again (dating is so expensive), so I really only bought 1 used book and picked up 3 books from the library sale.

kacI bought The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon at an antiques store while I was out record shopping. I’ve previously purchased this for my brother and was interested in it so I picked up a copy for myself.

iwjabfNext, from the library sale, I got I Was Jane Austen’s Best Friend by Cora Harrison. I don’t know much about this book but I’ve never read a teen regency book, so I am interested in seeing what it’s like.

odI also got a copy of One Day by David Nicholls simply out of curiosity.

the future of usFinally from the book sale I got The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Macker. I’m not a huge fan of Asher but I thought I’d give it a shot.

PURCHASED – COMICS

This month I got into the habit of going to the comics shop and picking up individual issues. It’s a bit hard for most series that are far into their runs already but I found 2 series that I will be buying in the future.

bcFirst I got Black Canary #1 by Brenden Fletcher and Annie Wu. I am loving this so far and I’m looking forward to the next issue.

sg1I also got Spider-Gwen #1 by Jason Latour and Robbie Rodriquez. I’m not completely sold on this series yet. The first one didn’t sell it for me so I bought…

sp1Spider-Gwen #2. This still didn’t sell me. I’ll give it one more shot next week.

NETGALLEY

I received 3 books from NetGalley this month.

d4veI received D4VE by Ryan Ferrier from Diamond Book Distributors. This looks like an interesting read, expect a review in several months.

geI received Manga Classics: Great Expectations by Charles DickensStacy KingCrystal Chan, and Nokman Poon from Udon Entertainment.

emma

I also received Manga Classics: Emma by Jane AustenStacy KingPo Tse, and Crystal Chan from Udon Entertainment. I’m definitely looking forward to these 2 new Manga Classics!

PUBLISHER

This month I received a lot of books from publishers through work book clubs, I haven’t had a chance to look at any of them really though. Eventually I’ll get to them!

adFirst I got Another Day by David Levithan from another day Random House. I really enjoyed the first book in this series so I’m looking forward to this.

aliveI received Alive by Scott Sigler from Random House.  This looks like an interesting sci fi read.

13domI received 13 Days of Midnight by Leo Hunt from Random House. I’m not super interested in this one but I’ll definitely give it a chance.

fmNext I received Fuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar from Random House. I loved Holes so I am kind of curious to read something else from Sachar.

tboc

Finally, I received The Beast of Cretacea by Todd Strasser from Random House. I’m definitely interested in seeing how the Moby Dick plot plays out in this futuristic sci fi.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

