Mini-Review: Bossypants by Tina Fey

bossypantsTitle: Bossypants

Author: Tina Fey

Publisher: Reagan Arthur

Source: Gift

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

5 stars copy

Before Liz Lemon, before “Weekend Update,” before “Sarah Palin,” Tina Fey was just a young girl with a dream: a recurring stress dream that she was being chased through a local airport by her middle-school gym teacher. She also had a dream that one day she would be a comedian on TV.

She has seen both these dreams come true.

At last, Tina Fey’s story can be told. From her youthful days as a vicious nerd to her tour of duty on Saturday Night Live; from her passionately halfhearted pursuit of physical beauty to her life as a mother eating things off the floor; from her one-sided college romance to her nearly fatal honeymoon — from the beginning of this paragraph to this final sentence.

Tina Fey reveals all, and proves what we’ve all suspected: you’re no one until someone calls you bossy. (Source: Goodreads)

Bossypants is the humor book/memoir from SNL and 30 Rock‘s Tina Fey. The book features essays from the comedian about childhood, work, marriage, babies, and general anxiety. I’ve always been a fan of Tina Fey, she was one of my idols when I was a teenager, so I was definitely excited to read this book – especially as I’ve already read Amy Poehler’s book.

I loved every moment of this book. There were really varied essays about a lot of topics, some of which were feminist topics – which I think a lot of people were expecting to see, and some were more general discussions of working in show business, having a family, being a comedian, etc. I really enjoyed all of it. I think Fey’s comedic style really comes across very clearly in the book. It certainly reads in her voice and that was great for me.

I am actually a huge fan of her writing in this book. I often find this humor/autobiography type books get a little draggy at some point but Fey kept the pace moving really well. There are some great laughs and some great photos. It definitely feels like Fey is telling you a story, as if you’re having a conversation with her. The tone is really fabulous and keeps you in the book.

I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend it.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read BossypantsLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

