Review: Curses! Foiled Again by Jane Yolen and Mike Cavallaro

cfaTitle: Curses! Foiled Again

Author: Jane Yolen and Mike Cavallaro

Publisher: First Second

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Defender of the Seelie Courts, Aliera Carstairs, is back!

This time her cousin and best friend, Caroline joins her in both the human and the faerie realms–where the stakes are higher than ever.

And then there’s the Unseelie-defector-troll Avery tagging along, Baba Yaga herself, and much, much more that is rarely what it seems. (Source: Goodreads)

Aliera and Avery are back at it in this sequel to Foiled! Together they must fight against trolls to save the kingdom of faeries, whether they like it or not. When the trolls strike out against them in the real world however, things take on a turn for the worse. Aliera must finally face her destiny and save her family before it’s too late.

I read and reviewed the previous book in this series a few months back. At that point the action only really started at the very last minute. This book picks up exactly from that moment, meaning this book is non-stop action and fantasy. I found it charming, with the same interesting aesthetic, and loved the continued dynamic between Aliera and Avery.

In this book Aliera and Avery continue their battle against the trolls, they even wind up in Trollheim where the trolls live. I found the action interesting overall, though I felt there was a lot of filler to keep things moving even when it really didn’t need to be there. The pace was really fast, I think I read this in under 20 minutes because it just moved so quickly and consistently. I really enjoyed the story this time, I felt like it was a lot more interesting than the way things had been in the first book with the long drawn-out lead up to the fantasy elements, whereas this jumped straight into it.

Aliera and Avery’s relationship continued to be a huge highlight of this book for me. Now that Avery’s secret has been revealed he comes across a lot less creepy, and it creates an interesting dynamic between the two now that he is bound to her. I think their bond is really interesting and creates a lot of the humor in the book. They have a sort of enemy/friend situation that makes it hard for Aliera to trust him but they’re so adorable together it’s hard not to see that they fit together well as partners in battle or otherwise. I also loved that Aliera’s cousin was more involved in this book as well because she is one of the more interesting characters in the books as well.

One of my favourite things in this is that Aliera is this super strong female character and she leads the action and totally kicks ass at the same time. I think Avery isn’t a weak character in comparison but he definitely needs Aliera’s strength in a lot of situations. I think the ending is really interesting because Aliera doesn’t necessarily win the battle alone, even though she could, and I think it just highlights the importance of the friendship between Aliera and Avery.

The art in this book is, as always, a huge favourite for me. I love the continued grayscale to colour dichotomy in the books which creates a really unique contrast between the real and fantasy worlds that the characters split their time between.

I loved this book and I really hope there are more in the future, though I’m not sure their need to be.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Curses! Foiled AgainLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Jane Yolen at her website and Goodreads.
Check out Mike Cavallaro at his website and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

