Stacking the Shelves (33)

logo 1

This week I’ll once again be taking part in Stacking the Shelves hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. The idea of Stacking the Shelves is to talk about the books you’ve bought, borrowed, etc. and show off and talk about your purchases and borrows. This is basically the perfect feature for me because I buy way more books, and read way more books, than I’ll ever be able to review. I’ll most likely talk about the stores I bought the books at as well, especially if they’re independent stores.

This meme is once monthly for me, where I’ll round up what I’ve gotten since last month’s post.

This month I purchased 5 books, borrowed 12 books, gifted 1 book, received 3 books on NetGalley, and 2 books on Edelweiss. Check them out below!

PURCHASED

This month I tried to save on books by not purchasing a lot of things, I did make a few purchases here and there but I really held off on a lot of things. In the end I wound up with 5 books total across the last month and a half.

vincentFirst I purchased Vincent by Barabara Stok. This is a book I’ve been waiting on for a while, so I was pretty excited when we got it in at work. I’ve since read it and wasn’t hugely impressed with it, but I’m glad to have gotten to know more about Vincent van Gogh.

lmI used a gift card that I won to buy Linda McCartney: Life in Photographs from work. I fell in love with this book because of the adorable Paul McCartney picture on the cover, the inside is also full of great photographs from Linda McCartney’s professional and private life.

nimonaI also bought Nimona by Noelle Stevenson which I had previously read a preview of. This book is absolutely adorable and I want to share it with everyone. Be on the lookout for a review of this in the coming weeks!

cis2I grabbed Cleopatra in Space Book Two: The Thief and the Sword by Mike Maihack. I absolutely adored the first book in this series so I’m really excited to read more from Maihack.

tbtFinally I purchased Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed. Dear Sugar was something my friend and I connected over when we reconnected earlier this year so I decided to check out the book collection and read more Dear Sugar.

NETGALLEY

This month I received 3 books on NetGalley.

lrFirst I received a copy of Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern from Hachette Books. I haven’t had a chance to read this yet but I am interested in checking it out and seeing the movie as well.

fpNext I received Family Pets by Pat Shand and Sarah Dill from Diamond Book Distributors. I’m not sure what to expect with this graphic novel but I am looking forward to reading it!

bgmhFinally, I received a copy of Bream Gives Me Hiccups by Jesse Eisenberg from Grove Atlantic. I am a huge fan of Eisenbergs series on McSweeney’s so I am glad to have a chance to read it in this book and hopefully more stories.

EDELWEISS

This month I received 2 books on Edelweiss.

rfssFirst I received Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu from HarperCollins Children. I love Haydu’s work and I’m excited to see a middle school book from her.

astfI also received A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern from HarperCollins Children. I loved McGovern’s last book so I’m excited to see more from her.

BORROWED

This month was a little crazy with borrowed books. I borrowed all of these books from one of my friends and read them all this month. Don’t expect any reviews of them unless they’re specifically requested.

gdbtdFirst I borrowed Grendel: Devil by the Deed by Matt Wagner. This one I did review. This led to a lot more Grendel stuff being read.

gbwrI also borrowed Grendel: Black, White, and RedThis was a great collection that I really enjoyed.

grwb I followed this up with Grendel : Red, White, and Black. This was another interesting collection of stories about Grendel.

gvbThen I read Grendel/Batman. This was interesting but a little long, definitely worth a read.

gdtThen I read Grendel: Devil Tales. This was interesting but not my favourite.

gbtdThe final Grendel book was Grendel: Behold the Devil. This one felt like the first which was excellent.

boneThen I borrowed Bone by Jeff Smith. This is super fun and I loved it. Definitely a fantastic read no matter your age.

0-545-13543-5I followed that up with Rose by Jeff Smith and Charles Vess. This is a prequel to Bone, it’s not amazing but provides interesting background information.

supremeThe next book that this person lent to me was Supreme: The Story of the Year by Alan MooreJoe Bennett, Rick Veitch, and Alex Ross. They have been ranting and raving about this book and how I absolutely must read it, so I will eventually read it. I’m looking forward to seeing the different art styles.

nf1Next they lent me DC: The New Frontier, Volume 1 by Darwyn Cooke. This was one I asked to borrow because I was really interested in the art. This was the same for…

nf2DC: The New Frontier, Volume 2 by Darwyn Cooke. I’m excited to read these two!

cabalFinally, I was given Cabal by Clive Barker to read. This was my first experience reading anything really in the “horror” genre, and I actually really enjoyed it. The writing was excellent and the story was very interesting. It’s pretty short so I’d say check it out if you have any interest.

GIFTED

Finally, I gave one gift this month to my brother.

fables

I bought Fables Volume 21: Happily Ever After by Bill Willingham. After this there’s only 1 volume left! We’re both sad to see the series wrapping up as it has been a favourite for a long time. I haven’t had a chance to read this yet, but you’ll likely see it in my next Stacking the Shelves as a book I’ve borrowed!

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read any of these books? Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought of them!
What did you add to your shelves this week? Leave me a comment and let me know!
Want to join in on the fun? Head over to Tynga’s Reviews and learn about Stacking the Shelves.
Connect with me on Goodreads and Twitter.

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves (33)

Leave me a comment!

