ARC Review: Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland by Eric Shanower

lnTitle: Little Nemo: Return to Slumberland

Author: Eric Shanower

Release Date: May 26

Publisher: IDW Publishing

Source: Diamond Book Distributors on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Preorder this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Spinning out of Winsor McKay’s brilliant early 20th Century strip, Return to Slumberland sees King Morpheus’ daughter, in the Royal Palace of Slumberland, selecting her next-playmate — Nemo! Only Nemo has no interest in being anyone’s playmate, dream or no dream! (Source: Goodreads)

The princess of Slumberland is trying to find a new playmate, and her attention is drawn to a young boy named Jimmy whose middle name is Nemo – just like her famous past playmate. Nemo has no interest in spending time with the princess but he wants to explore Slumberland. Maybe he’ll find that the princess isn’t nearly as stuffy as he thought during their adventures.

I liked this comic a lot, but I think I found it a little dull so it’s not my favourite. I am a huge fan of the original Little Nemo comic strips by Winsor McCay which I studied at school when learning about animation history. I was really intrigued by the idea of a new version of this famous character and thus was excited to read the book. I think the story was a great adaptation with some really fantastic art that fits the style of the original Nemo strip so well. I think I found the story a little dull, and didn’t feel like much of anything particularly interesting happened.

The story follows Nemo, actually Jimmy, as he makes his way into Slumberland. He doesn’t want to be there though so he starts spending time with Flip. The story is mostly focused on the two of them getting into trouble around Slumberland. I think this worked well for showcasing some amazing art, but didn’t make for a particularly interesting story. I think for me a lot of the appeal for the book, at all, comes from the historical significance of the character and the importance to me, not from the story being particularly interesting. I think something interesting would have to happen for me to continue reading the series because the art, no matter how beautiful, won’t keep me reading.

There isn’t much update to the characters in this story, with Jimmy being a complete replacement and exact copy of the original Nemo. The racist caricature of an Irish man – Flip – still appears, but the African Imp has been removed. This is a step in the right direction but I think people may not even understand the significance of the design in Flip. There is one positive I suppose, Flip doesn’t smoke cigars anymore, making the story somewhat kid friendly.

I think the art in this book is beautiful. It’s like an updated version of the original art, but the style is still very much the same which made me really happy. There isn’t much more to say about this other than the fact that the art was completely and totally incredible.

Overall, I think this is worth checking out but I probably would’t read any further issues.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Little Nemo: Return to SlumberlandLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Eric Shanower at his website and Goodreads.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

