ARC Review: Unicorn on a Roll by Dana Simpson

uoarTitle: Unicorn on a Roll (Heavenly Nostrils #1)

Author: Dana Simpson

Release Date: May 26

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Source: Andrews McMeel Publishing on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

One year has passed since Phoebe skipped a rock across a pond, accidentally hit a unicorn in the face, and was granted a single wish—which she used to make the unicorn, Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, her obligational best friend. In some ways, not much has changed. At school Phoebe still clashes with her rival–and sometimes “frenemy”–he ever-taunting and imperious Dakota. Outside of school, she still fills her free time with extra-credit homework assignments, dramatic monologues about the injustices associated with school cliques, and imaginative conspiracy theories regarding global forces like the “powerful construction paper lobby.” But unlike before, Phoebe now has a best friend to share it with—someone to make her laugh and to listen to all her extravagant ideas.

In this second volume of Heavenly Nostrils, titled, Unicorn on a Roll, the reader is invited on a journey into the lives of Phoebe and Marigold as they navigate the difficulties of grade school, celebrate the winter holidays, and explore their super hero/super villain personas together. Join in the fun, as Phoebe competes against Dakota for the leading role of “Lisa Ladybug” in their fourth-grade play—or as she struggles to “manage” the PR debacle related to her nose-picking-scandal. (“I will neither confirm nor deny the events surrounding Boogergate.”) Witness a band of unicorns staging an “intervention” and learn all the details of Marigold’s secret crush on a mysterious creature she has never seen. Perhaps most important, watch as this surprising friendship between a charming, nine-year-old dreamer and a vain, mythical beast forever changes both of them for the better. (Source: Goodreads)

This book picks up with Phoebe and Marigold at their one year anniversary. It follows them as they celebrate holidays. The main arc of the story is Marigold’s crush on another unicorn and what comes of this crush – it involves an intervention! The precocious duo continues to get involved in shenanigans and hijinks of all kinds in this second collection of the Heavenly Nostrils series.

I enjoyed Phoebe and her Unicorn of course, but I liked this quite a bit more. I think this book contained the comics when Simpson was a little more into her groove with the series so the flow of the story was a lot better. I especially felt like the humor felt a little more natural in this collection, and it had a lot of more sophisticated humor which I enjoyed quite a lot.

I really liked the plotlines in this collection. My favourite plotline was probably Marigold’s crush and the intervention that follows it. I found this part of the book exceptionally funny. I also really loved a lot of the one page comics from throughout the book. My favourite of those was the unicorn version of “I Am the Very Model of a Modern Major-General”. This was one of my favourite things because I felt like the humor in this comic had really matured to such a great place because Simpson was making these fantastic references to all sorts of different things – including opera. There are so many fantastic references like these throughout the book. I really loved that this book showed progress from the first collection – it made me kind of proud of Phoebe and Marigold (and Simpson of course) for this.

I felt like there was a good deal of character growth in this collection as well. I felt like Marigold and Phoebe had both matured quite a bit. I think this comes across most clearly in the changing nature of Phoebe and her nemesis, Dakota’s, relationship. They are no longer strictly enemies, instead their relationship had developed into something more amiable. This definitely felt like the most obvious direction for things to go in. I was really pleased with this development of the characters in this volume.

Overall I was really pleased with this book. I loved the art as always, and felt like the book showed quite a lot of progress story-wise and character-wise that was really natural and well written. I highly recommend this book.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Unicorn on a RollLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “ARC Review: Unicorn on a Roll by Dana Simpson

Leave me a comment!

