ARC Review: The Runaway’s Gold by Emilie Christie Burack

trgTitle: The Runaway’s Gold

Author: Emilie Christie Burack

Release Date: May 12

Publisher: Amulet Books

Source: ABRAMS on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Pre-order this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

In 1842, Christopher Robertson’s family lives a difficult life as “crofters,” farmers and fishermen so in debt to the landowner that they have no hope of ever breaking free. To make matters worse, Christopher also lives under the thumb of his morally questionable father and devious brother. When his brother frames him for the theft of their father’s secret bag of coins, Christopher must leave his home and embark on a journey across the island to return the coins and clear his name. It’s a journey that takes twists and turns, including stops in prison, on a smuggler’s ship, and at the house of a beautiful girl—and it ends with him escaping to a new life in America, which has dangers of its own. (Source: Goodreads)

Christopher Robertson’s family lives under the thumb of the evil Marwick who practically owns all the crofters on the island. When his brother frames him for theft he must catch his brother and clear his name. While he tracks his brother down however he comes across the mystery of a lost treasure which he becomes tangled in while trying to free his family from the oppressive power of Marwick.

I had no idea what to expect going into this book. Early on the book caught me offguard with its unique writing style, content, and unusual pacing and plot. I thought this book was an extremely interesting read. This book took me forever to read, but that was mostly because I’ve been too busy to read anything. Everytime I read the book I would read massive chunks of it, I just didn’t have many opportunities to sit and read it.

The book follows Christopher Robertson as he tries to escape his past and to fix the problems of his family. I found the plot super interesting, and the mystery of the treasure that Chris seeks was really intriguing. I found some of the content a little mature compared to what I thought was a MG audience. There is a scene where Chris smothers a lamb after his father helps the lamb give birth, but the more I think about it the less bothered by it I am because it wasn’t particularly graphic. I found the plot overall really exciting and it kept pulling me back in. I was somewhat disappointed by the ending of the book because it seemed rather abrupt and kind of cliffhanger-ish. I don’t know that there’s a sequel in the works so this was kind of concerning.

I really liked Christopher and thought he was a fantastic lead character. He’s very loyal and caring. I was also very fond of the supporting characters in the book like Mary and Malcolm. Malcolm in particular was really interesting and played a huge role in shaping the way Christopher works throughout the book. Christopher and Malcolm have fantastic chemistry which makes for some really interesting humour throughout the book and keeps the pace going really well.

The writing in this book is super interesting. The book uses a Shetland accent/dialect throughout which makes it a very interesting read. It might also make is a little more complicated for some people to read, especially if they’re not familiar with the Scottish accent. I found it made the book more interesting, but if the accent is difficult to understand there’s a fantastic glossary in the back of the book.

I am very fond of this book and would love to see more from come from this story. I loved the characters and writing especially and would love to see follow-up after that abrupt ending.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read The Runaway’s GoldLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Emilie Christie Burack at her Goodreadswebsite, and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Leave me a comment!

