ARC Review: Woodstock: Master of Disguise: A Peanuts Collection by Charles M. Schulz

wmodTitle: Woodstock: Master of Disguise: A Peanuts Collection

Author: Charles M. Schulz

Release Date: April 28

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

Source: Andrews McMeel Publishing on NetGalley (A copy of this book was provided to me in exchange for an honest review.)

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Preorder this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

4 stars

Woodstock might be the smallest of all the Peanuts gang, but he’s got a lot to say, even if Snoopy is the only one who understands him. That’s because Snoopy is Woodstock’s “Friend of Friends” and together they write masterpieces, fly airplanes, find the perfect place to nap, and win over the hearts of readers all over the world. Whether he’s falling in love with a snowflake or crash-landing on the tip of Snoopy’s nose, Woodstock is the little yellow bird with a big personality. It takes more than a strong wind to ruffle Woodstock’s feathers, although it’s a good thing he has Snoopy to keep his little yellow feet on the ground. Don’t miss out on the newest AMP! Peanuts collection featuring Woodstock, the most recognizable yellow bird in the world-even in disguise! (Source: Goodreads)

This book is a collection of Peanuts comics starring, or featuring, Woodstock, Snoopy’s adorable bird companion. I thought it was an absolutely charming collection of comics, and adored that it featured Snoopy and Woodstock as the prominent characters as they have always been my favourites. I have a few complaints about formatting/order in the book but otherwise I was entertained and charmed by the collection.

The book combines 4 panel and 6 panel comics that follow the adventures of Snoopy and Woodstock over the years. Some of the recurring storylines are hiking trips, Woodstock going to school, Woodstock bothering Schroeder, and Snoopy and Woodstock napping together. This book is a delight to read because the stories are absolutely adorable. It was so entertaining to read about Snoopy and Woodstock, especially as they have wonderful chemistry even with Woodstock unable to speak in any way you might understand. I loved reading this, it was quick to read and very fun.

I think my one and only complaint about this book is probably the ordering of the comics. I’m not exactly sure, I think it goes in order of their original publication. This works and totally makes sense for the most part. What does wind up happening though is that you’ll have a bunch of football strips, and then one unrelated one, and then suddenly more football strips. It might have made the book flow better to put these all together – especially because this would create a sort of continuity to the different lines of the book.

Overall this was a delight to read. This is the perfect book for fans of Peanuts and I would highly recommend gifting it to anyone you know who loves Peanuts or even just Snoopy fans.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read Woodstock: Master of Disguise: A Peanuts CollectionLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Woodstock: Master of Disguise: A Peanuts Collection by Charles M. Schulz

Leave me a comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s