Review: Foiled by Jane Yolen and Mike Cavallaro

foiled

Title: Foiled (Foiled #1)

Author: Jane Yolen and Mike Cavallaro

Publisher: First Second Books

Source: Purchased

Check this book out on Goodreads.

Buy this book at: Chapters | Book Depository

3 stars

Aliera Carstairs just doesn’t fit in. She’s always front and center at the fencing studio, but at school she’s invisible. And she’s fine with that . . . until Avery Castle walks into her first period biology class. Avery may seem perfect now, but will he end up becoming her Prince Charming or just a toad? (Source: Goodreads)

Aliera Carstairs is an expert fencer from NYC. She’s avoided, until this point, letting her guard down and allowing someone into her heart. Unfortunately, that won’t always be the case. When she gets a strange practice weapon from her mom and meets Avery everything changes. Her fantasies start to become realities and she’s suddenly stopped being colour blind.

I enjoyed this comic quite a bit but there were a few things that held me back from loving it. The art was great and I loved the contrasting grey scale and vivid colour. I thought the plot was interesting especially using fencing as that main component as that’s not really common. I found the fantasy elements came in a little too late which made the story feel a little lagging. It definitely helps to know there’s a sequel which will probably be a little better since the fantasy elements will already be developed.

The storyline, a young girl who finds out she’s not so ordinary, is not a new idea. But Yolen really incorporates some unique ideas into this version. Aliera has an unusual hobby, she’s colour blind, and her prince charming, Avery, is kind of…creepy. I think these things made the story a lot more interesting. I found the plot a little slow especially as it starts out very slowly describing the relationship between Avery and Aliera but hardly fits the fantasy elements in because of this dragged out exploration of their relationship. This was disappointing because the fantasy stuff has a lot of potential.

I liked Aliera. She’s very strong and fierce. And she kicks a lot of ass. I think Avery was creepy but that really makes sense the more you find out about him. Their relationship was a little confusing to me, because he was so weird it didn’t suit her very well. I definitely want to see what this progresses into in the next book though because they have an interesting dynamic.

The art really drew me into this book because it’s sort of unusual. I’d say its a bit like Aaron Becker’s Quest series with the contrasting bland and colourful art. I like the style a lot, its basically the exact style I always love, cartoony, simple, with clean lines.

I’m definitely looking forward to another one of these books because this story has a lit of potential. Definitely recommend but not my favorite.

Ramble on,
Kimber


Have you read FoiledLet me know your thoughts in the comments!
Check out Jane Yolen at her website and Goodreads.
Check out Mike Cavallaro at his website and Twitter.
Connect with me on Goodreads, BlogLovin, and Twitter.

One thought on “Review: Foiled by Jane Yolen and Mike Cavallaro

Leave me a comment!

